General help on very small family farm needed in Normandy, France

Country

France

Favourited 249 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/12/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    942

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi

    Availability - December onwards- particularly over Christmas

    Currently we would love to have someone or a couple for taking care of the animals - feeding the sheep, poultry, horses, dogs and cats. Walking the dogs . We also have a bit of painting and decorating that needs doing on an apartment in Caen that we are getting ready for renting. Minimum stay 3 weeks, and the longer the better in general. We are happy to have people anytime of the year. We are always very happy to welcome cooks, and we have had some really amazing chefs over the years.

    If you are good at riding, we have 2 horses, and they would welcome getting ridden more often than is currently the case.

    We are coming to the end of the major renovation project that is our 14th century home. We moved in in May 2017, and have been working ridiculously hard to try and finish the house, while setting up our small holding, with sheep, horse, ducks, chickens and cats. We have just finished building a barn for the animals.

    We are a bilingual French/English family with 4 kids (15, 14,14, 11). Since 2010 we have had nearly 100 helpers, with quite a few staying for over a year (and some over 2 years) which has been fabulous.

    This stay would really suit a couple or 2 friends, so that you have company as we are out all day and away pretty regularly. Or someone happy with their own company, and good at visiting by themselves. We do our best to insure that if you need a car then there is one available.

    The principal reason we are currently looking for helpers is that are just never enough hours in the day to get everything done.

    Currently these jobs are :
    painting an apartment
    gardening
    picking veg/fruit depending on what's happening in the garden
    weeding
    mowing
    hedge trimming
    tidying out all the storage spaces

    From December through to March we need extra help with our small flock of sheep, as they have their babies. They come into the stables in the evening and then go out in the day. They need feeding - hard feed and hay, straw added to their bedding etc ready for them to come in the evening. Then letting out in the morning. If we have any orphan lambs they need to be given a bottle several times a day.

    On a daily basis, the dog need walking and supper needs cooking. Dog, cats, sheep, horses and poultry need feeding. In the winter the horses and sheep need feeding too. I normally do all this, but happy to have some help, as we leave at 7 am and get back at 7 pm.

    If you can ride we have 2 really lovely horses (well one's a large pony) who need more exercise. No particular expertise required as they are both ex riding school ponies. We use a very gentle method with them, and they are both really lovely boys.

    We are in a great location for visiting Normandy - Mont St Michel , Bayeux tapestry and the D-Day beaches. Our closest town is Saint Pierre sur Dives and we go to work/school in Caen. We have a beach house close to Granville and Coutances, which you are welcome to use but only out of season, while doing any odd jobs that need doing there. Deauville and Honfleur are an easy drive from home.

    HAVING A DRIVING LICENSE AND BEING ABLE TO DRIVE A MANUAL CAR ARE AN ABSOLUTELY ESSENTIAL PART OF THE JOB. Sorry to shout, but I cannot make this clear enough. There is no public transport within 10kms. If you have your own car that would be even better! You can generally have use of a car with a bit of prior notice.

    We will give you a food allowance when we are away, otherwise most evenings you would eat with us, and we would normally expect to cover all your food costs.

    So basically the job probably averages less than 20 hours a week:

    • Walking the dogs daily – we have a springer spaniel called Spot.

    • Gardening – weeding, weed wacking/strimming, mowing, watering, picking fruit, veg etc depending on the season. In the winter there is very little to do.

    • Generally keeping the place in working order.

    • Doing the recycling, bins.

    • Cooking the evening meal, or helping with its preparation.

    • We are currently doing up an apartment in Caen, we are largely up to the painting stage now.

    Accommodation

    You have your own separate part of the house, which has several bedrooms, that are used for helpers and guests, bathroom, toilet, kitchen etc . We do use the bottom part as "your kitchen" has the washing machine in and "your bathroom" has the tumble drier.

    We are a bilingual French /English family and are happy to speak either at home. We are happy to have people from anywhere as long as they are prepared to speak either English or French.

    There are always things to be done, so any helper must be really independent, a team player, a self starter and preferably a non-smoker.

    We have a discount with Brittany Ferries for those travelling to & from the UK.

    Please get in touch if you are interested.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a bilingual family, French father English mother. Happy to have people from any culture/language as long as they are happy to speak (or learn) English or French.

    We are in a great location for visiting Normandy - we are fairly close to the D-Day beaches, Deauville etc. We have a beach house near Granville, which is good for visiting the west coast of Normandy.

    We currently have 4 outdoor cats, 1 dog, 2 horses, 15 sheep, 6 ducks, 10 chickens and a cockerel - happy to show anyone about any of them.

  • Help

    Help

    • Walking the dogs daily – we have a springer spaniels.

    • Gardening – weeding, weed wacking/strimming, mowing, watering, picking fruit, veg etc depending on the season.

    • Generally keeping the place in working order so that it looks great for our self-catering rental guests.

    • Keeping an eye on the beach house before new clients arrive, mostly over the summer.

    • Doing the recycling, bins.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You have your own separate accommodation, bedroom(s), sitting room, dining area, bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You must have a driving licence and know how to drive a manual car. Although I have taught a lot of people to drive a manual. The car is shared with me, so not always available, but with some prior warning we can make this work.

    We are in a fairly rural location so you need to be happy with your own and our company. Going out (in the evening) involves driving. We are surrounded by chateaux and manoirs and well placed for trips to Deauville, Mont Saint Michel, D-Day beaches, Bayeux tapestry, Cherbourg, Caen, Granville, Vire, Lisieux, Falaise.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    A maximum of 20 hours, 5 days a week.

Our boys.
Walks around the beach house













Host ref number: 2246867734de