Mark & Chloe

  • Netherlands & France
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently

    At home

    Our next destination:

    Slovakia (Slovak Republic) - from Jun 2022 until Jun 2022
    View all
  • Description

    Hello there!

    We are Mark (from the Netherlands) and Chloe (from France). We met in Sweden while studying there in 2018 and decided to stick together after that, because it turned out we want the same things in life (and also that we like each other!)

    Mark studied investigative journalism in the Netherlands and Sweden. Chloe went to law school in France and the US, then went on to the same investigative journalism course as Mark in Sweden. We then moved to Grenoble (France) to work in completely non-related fields, and to enjoy the surrounding mountains.

    We both could probably have interesting careers following the "traditional" path, but we have always felt it wouldn't suit us. Money, social status, possessions... those don't really speak to us. We like being outside, travelling, meeting different people, finding out about new things, new places, new ways. We would like to make this a relatively long-term way of living, going to various countries, and that's why we decided to use Workaway.

    We started in the French Alps (we do love the mountains), as soon as the first corona-wave allowed for it. The second corona-wave had us take a break throughout the winter, and we decided to use the forced pause to buy a small van and convert it into a house on wheels. Between the spring and the fall of 2021, we managed to tour Sweden (all the way up to Lapland!), Northern-Italy and Corsica. After a winter season spent working in the tourism business in a ski resort in France, we're now ready to get back on the roads and undertake a trip we have had in mind ever since we got together: Central Europe and the Balkans!

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
    Helping around the house

    Able to teach about:  

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice
    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    We are both good at adapting to new situations; we learn fast, and we are autonomous and thorough in what we do. Whether it is about surviving a two-month lockdown in a small apartment, or going to the Polar Circle a week after breaking a foot, we don't give up easily. We adapt and manage!

    Both of us are sociable and easy-going, but we also enjoy some alone time to read a book or listen to music. We both spent plenty of time being hosted by other people, and we know the importance of having a nice time together while respecting everyone's space.

    We both enjoy working with our hands. On top of that Mark is good at cooking and building or fixing things. Chloe has had a lot of experiences in social work, and is good with tasks that require care and attention. We're interested in virtually any topic, and we're especially hoping to learn about agriculture/gardening and self-sustainable living.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    26 & 25

  • What else ...

    We have a beautiful Citroën Berlingo, which would need to be parked somewhere.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Chloe is allergic to peanut and sesame, and Mark to most small / fluffy animals

    • Special dietary requirements
      We cook mostly vegan but we are happy to eat anything available!

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback