Help with various projects around our family farmhouse in Algarve, Portugal

Country

Portugal

updated  

Favourited 607 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    85  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a British couple with a seven year old girl Living in the East Algarve for over 10 years.
    We are currently in the final stages of renovating an old Portuguese farmhouse.

    I used to work in the art department for the BBC in the UK. I am now involved in various building projects, property renovations and some photo production work.
    Amanda used to be a TV Editor, she is now a full time mum who also runs a small ceramics business and enjoys a more spiritual take on life.

    Ideally this project would suit a couple or 2 friends, however singles are most welcome.

    We are looking for enthusiastic practical people to help us with our farmhouse renovations, gardening, landscaping and childcare.
    If you Like kids and are interested in building, gardening, sustainable living and alternative energy this project is for you.
    We are also Now starting to work more on the land, planting, rain water and grey water harvesting, planning a food forest and water conservation Techniques.
    Anyone with knowledge in this field would be very welcome.

    If you are a couple with the right skills and driving licence (or have your own vehicle) we have a small cottage 15 minutes drive from our house, remote and tranquil with amazing views.

    Otherwise, Your accommodation will be a cabin with its own kitchen, dry compost toilet and solar shower or a caravan.

    As a couple we give you 40 euros per week to buy your own provisions. With some meals at our house, depending on how busy we are.

    The farm house is walking/cycling distance from Santa Catarina, our local village. Here you will find all amenities, cafes, bar, shop, bakery, bank, post office and pharmacy.

    If you can drive (and we trust you!) we have an old car you can use to get around. We also have bikes you can use.

    The Farm house is about 10 minutes drive from the beach.

    This is a great opportunity to learn hands on with building projects, landscaping and gardening.
    If you are arty and creative then there maybe some help needed with Amanda's ceramics business.

    Hope to hear from you soon!

    Stuart & Amanda

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Building and Gardening skills.
    Ceramics skills.
    Child care.
    We have been renovating old stone houses in Portugal for 15 years, we are happy to share our knowledge with you.

  • Help

    Help

    Looking for friendly, interesting people to help with some Building and Gardening projects.
    Childcare and help around the house. Also, help with any creative projects we are involved with at the time.
    We prefer our Workawayers to have practical skills and also be able to help with minimum supervision.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Cottage, Cabin, Caravan, Bell tent.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can pick you up from Faro, Olhao or Tavira. We will also take you shopping and can drive you to the beach on your days off!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Safe fenced land.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day (max 25hours/week)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.9)



















































Host ref number: 953285649855