Help with DIY in the countryside of Brocéliande, France

  • Favourited 32 times
  • Last activity: 29 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Experiment country life style in Brocéliande, in a timber, earth and stone house. We are still in our first year expérience as a workaway host ! We live in the countryside of Brocéliande, a mighty forest not far from Rennes city. The house is 5 km from Montfort sur Meu village with all facilities and a train station. The house stands on a 22 acres of lands and woods, with a 2 acres pond, and a stream. We live with a lovely english setter dog, an energetic jack parson and 15 little black Ouessant sheep. We also have two lovely mares (PSL and Haflinger !) that can be rode. We especially need outdoor help. Mainly taking care of the garden around the house (which is quite tough) and some little house maintenance. As a job, we run a small association called "Les Coulisses de la Nature" which purpose is to reveal the incredible power of life through arts and sciences ! We work with highschools and universities, organize workshops here and there. We may not be at home every single day, as we often work away. That's why we provide a tiny car (our daughter's twingo) for our workawayers who would need to be independant !

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Brittany is a celtic region with strong bonds with Cornwall, Ireland and Scotland. The old celtic culture is still alive here, especially in Brocéliande, the mythic forest where King Arthur, the round table knights and the enchanting Merlin used to live. There are many places all around Brocéliande where still remain these old stories. There is a little beach 10mn from home (Tremelin). Rennes (less than 20mn by train) is known to be best city for students for years ! There are lots of cultural activities there, such as "Les Transmusicales" in december. Last but not least, the very place of the house is dedicated to arts and natural sciences.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for persons who know about countryside living, are used to gardening, clear the undergrowth from rough parts, able to weedwack, because it will be the main part of the job, and a part that is quite tough ! It would be great if you have abilities in electricity or plumbing (for the house), or mechanic as there is quite different farming devices (agricultural tractor, mawing tractor, brushcutterer,....) !

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our workawayers will be hosted in 2 private double bed rooms, with a bathroom to share (Separate toilets) and a lounge with TV, microwave and sink for breakfast or quickmeals. They can have their meals there if they want privacy, or in the kitchen with us if they prefer to share time.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are lots of walks to do around (the house is located near the GR Tour de Brocéliande) with plenty of wonderful small paths. Lots of visits all around Brocéliande. We are located mid way from each coast (80 km from Saint-Malo, 100 km from Vannes), less than one hour drive from le Mont Saint-Michel. For those who are very good outdoor riders, it's possible to ride the family horses. Train station in Montfort sur Meu (5km). We will lend a small car for local journeys.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

Host ref number: 281362519696

Feedback (5)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)