Workaway reviews, feedback and ratings - page 2


08/12/2019
Our first Workaway experience: we went there to restore a house, but we found a home! We stayed at Sophie and Daniel's for three weeks in August 2019 and it has been simply great, for many things. We acquired some very precious skills for our future home, such as masonry, bricolage and garden design, among other things. It was fascinating to learn about the history of the house and about its renovation process, which involved also the knowledge of the local building traditions and historical techniques. We enjoyed very much the food, which was local, healthy, fair and delicious. In the evenings we relaxed together after a hard working day while chatting in French, English and Spanish and while enjoying each other's company and views about life. The atmosphere was very friendly, also with the other Workawayers. We loved Sophie and Daniel's pets, one cat and two dogs, who are sociable and playful. All of these things made our work challenging, interesting and rewarding; we felt as we were something more than two simple Workawayers. We came back home restored, body and mind. Also, right now we can rely on a practical kind of knowledge that we lacked before and on a new special friendship. We will certainly come back!

08/12/2019
I’ve been in Tromsø at Denise and Diego’s place for three weeks between October and November. It was my first workaway experience and was definitely a wonderful experience. Let’s make it clear: I was very lucky to stay in this family and I have no negative things to say. I spent most of the time with Denise since Diego was out for work. Denise is the perfect host: laidback, open-minded, respectful, trustable and she always makes you feel welcomed. She’s always ready to gives you hints and suggestions about Tromsø, hiking places, the northern lights etc. Diego is a very nice guy, friendly and easygoing. It’s a true pleasure to talk with him. He can cook excellent pizzas! I also have to mention Dylan: he’s a super cute baby!!! Work was very easy: cooking, cleaning, driving to grocery stores, shoveling the snow (this November there was A LOT of snow!) etc. I had plenty of free time to enjoy the wonderful Nature around Tromsø. I was impressed by how beautiful is Tromsø and its surroundings. I hope to come back here one day to meet the guys once again. They are awesome. Thank you Denise and Diego: I will always have good memories of your wonderful family!

08/12/2019
Petra and Cole are a really charming and harmonious couple and we absolutely enjoyed all the six weeks they stayed with us. They are very well educated yet with a modest attitude, they are trustworthy, honest, respectful, clean and they always work hard to give their very best. They were particularly respectful with the limited resources of water and electricity. Because they also work part-time on their laptop they don’t have much time for socializing. Still, we loved the little free time they had we spent together and they have become our dear friends. Even our dogs have missed them since they left, also our shy dog is looking for them every day ;-) Cole and Petra were always ready and willing to do all the jobs we asked them to do and how we wanted them to be done. They did some jobs together, such as cleaning, sanding and painting wood, doing a lot of good garden work, harvesting medronho berries, etc. Cole was happy to do physically hard garden jobs and he was a great help collecting and cutting wood for our oven. He also did very good jobs with smaller construction work, put up many shelves, built a little door for a small attic area, etc. Petra was a great help in the kitchen and even though she thought she did not have much experience in the kitchen, she was doing so well and was learning quickly how to cook and bake lovely with new recipes without my help, and she always prepared the food for the doggies with love. She also did a lot of great household and cleaning jobs, she quickly learned how to do some simple sewing, she did a lot of weeding, planting and carefully looked after the greenhouse and watering plants. Thank you very much, Petra and Cole! Our doors will always be open for you. We can recommend you to anyone!
Feedback left for Cole by Help in the garden with ...

08/12/2019
Brian and Eleonora are a very hard working, capable and enthusiastic couple. They helped make and plant  several garden beds, they worked independently to finish some complex panelling above the doors and bathroom using all the wood working tools and helped preserve lots of produce with some great recipes. They are very interesting and have a broad knowledge of holistic therapies which lead to many interesting discussions. They are a lovely couple and we would recommend them to anyone. All the best with your many travel plans, come and see us again soon!

08/12/2019
Corinna was a good volunteer, very young. She made a good team with Jana this help her to benefit from the experience of Jana. Corinna, Coco for Thai people, is an enthusiastic person. She teaches kids from P3 to P6 who are rather naughty but she can cope with this difficulties. Thank you for your time and thank you for the report you made at the end. This is helpfull for the next volunteer. I hope you the best for your travel. Vincent

08/12/2019
Tamara is a very skilled graphic designer and was able to follow a brief clearly and efficiently. We wish we could have kept her for longer, but the adventure of travels called. Would definitely recommend Tamara and welcome her back anytime.

08/12/2019
Five Stars is no where near enough. Salo is the perfect Workaway, wonderful company, a respectful and considerate guest, a man with wide experience and a passion for sharing his experiences, a great cook and a charming and ever cheerful presence. Salo is an incredibly hard and dedicated worker, nothing is finished until it is really finished, nothing is right until it is perfect, no job too big, no job too hard, no job too lowly, no job a problem - ever! Every tale Salo tells is of good experiences, everyone he meets is his friend. He brings ideas, planning and coordination to every job. When Salo arrived we already had a great Volunteer and Salo slipped immediately into a “support” role, when Salo was the “resident” Volunteer he immediately assumed responsibility for mentoring, supporting and caring for our new, inexperienced volunteers. Salo has no ego or issues with anyone or anything, he just loves life and fits in with people seamlessly. Salo was with us for 3 months and I never saw him downcast or reluctant in all that time, every day with Salo is a pleasure - and he never stops smiling, ever. The list of jobs that Salo competed whilst here is long, he was one of two Workaways that build a greenhouse to a standard that I consider perfection, moved two reclaimed glass shop cabinets into the greenhouse (they were very heavy indeed) and he made a new door for one cabinet, he made staging for the greenhouse and fitted the greenhouse with polystyrene and bubble wrap insulation, that he made to measure, for the Winter. He helped us demolish a very nice lady’s kitchen to remove large (very heavy) slabs of granite and built the most magnificent potting bench from one of the slabs and reclaimed timber, he even decorated the bench with reclaimed trellis and flowers made form old soft drinks bottles. He reclaimed timber from our paddock to build a stunning planter fence complete with hand made gates. He cut our huge shockproof hedgerow and front hedges. He used reclaimed materials to make gutters and a rainwater collection system. In addition, Salo loved the dogs and they loved him, he kept us company when our puppies were born, helped walk the dogs, cleaned inside and outside the house when necessary and appeared, often unexpectedly, to make delicious dishes for dinner, we learned how to make real guacamole and how to prepare plantains at their different stages of ripeness. We were away for three weeks whilst Salo was here and I think he actually worked harder (if that were possible) whist we were abscent, WhatsApp delivered daily photos of new construction and works in progress throughout our absence. Salo is also now a great Bananagrammer. From the minute he arrived Salo was a true member of the family, someone of whom I cannot speak too highly. If you have the opportunity for Salo to come and volunteer with you, don’t hesitate, just say yes, the only fault I can find is the big Salo shaped hole that is left when he moves on to bring light to someone else home.

08/12/2019
We stayed with Janet, Herbert, Kayla and Bushi for 6 wonderful weeks. Janet and Herbert literally gave us a home when we had nowhere to go. There is a very nice container room with kitchen and an in-progress dry toilet where Workawayers usually stay, but we were lucky enough to stay in the guest room, which is more beautiful than many hotels that we've stayed in. The food was amazing. Janet is a world-class cook and we looked forward to lunch every day. For breakfasts and dinners we were able to take anything we wanted from the kitchen and Janet would even buy us specific food items if we wanted something other than what they had (Janet even bought snacks and sweet treats specifically for us since they don't often eat sweet things). As for work, we did lots of different things to fill our 5 hours each day. We picked fruit, cleared land, built an anti-boar wall, sewed, cooked, cleaned, assembled shelves, repaired a chair, dug a permaculture trench and even watched over the dogs and the house while Herbert and Janet were away for a few days. Janet and Herbert are both very kind and knowledgeable hosts. We learned many new skills with them and Janet even took us to the beach and to town a few times. They live in a beautiful area up in the mountains, about 25 minutes by car from the ocean. This is a great place for Workawayers with a car to stay. They would be able to finish their work and then drive down to the ocean to surf or just enjoy the weather every day. Overall, we really loved our time with Herbert and Janet. We would love to come and stay with them again and we hope they will come visit us in the Czech Republic so we can be hosts for them and show them all around. We recommend staying with Janet and Herbert to hardworking people, who are looking to learn new skills and spend some quiet time in nature. Thank you Janet, Herbert, Kayla and Bushi! We hope to see you soon!
Feedback left for Help in the garden with ... by Cole

08/12/2019
Liz and Andrew are very welcoming and easy to talk to. We enjoyed having the possibility to learn about their private farm business and being a part of the process. The job had a lot of variety and it could be both hard outdoor labor or some easier indoor work. We had a lot of free time to explore the area and also chose to take a 3 day trip up north when we were there. We really enjoyed Liz and Andrews good company and interesting conversations about their adventures around the world. One of the things that also made the experience more special was differently the bush in the backyard - and the glowworms in the night time. We highly recommend this WorkAway family.
Feedback left for landscaping and market ... by Jesper

08/12/2019
Jana is a lovely volunteer. She can organize her lessons very well even when she get very few instructions. She builds a nice contact with the kids. Learning English is hard for them but they like you so much that they try their best. At the end Yana left a clear report of what she taught so the next volunteer knows how to continue. On a general point of view Jana was very well organised like a professional teacher. the kids miss you. Thank you Yana for your generosity.

08/12/2019
It is so great that i had the chance to meet Leire! She is beautiful, special, sensitive. She has beautiful voice and plays guitar. She helped me a lot in the garden and in the house. Always washing the dishes, cooking very often, always willing to help. We made a comfortable bench from pallets which was her idea. We had many moments of sharing and sincerity. She is willing to learn more about life in nature, also about conscious spiritual lifestyle. I wish you all the best sister, you are always welcome back! Keep singing and opening the heart! <3
Feedback left for Leire by Spiritual eco-project ...

08/12/2019
We stayed for a few weeks with Susie and Peter and enjoyed the time with them. We worked mostly in the garden (removing fence, digging under trees, planting flowers) and started building a small fairy village. Sometimes we did some cleaning in the house or went shopping with Susie. We had a nice room and our own bathroom. The house and the area is just lovely but when you don’t have a car it is hard to get around because there is no public transport or anything. But Peter and Susie were so kind and showed us around in the area, naming just a few destinations such as cradle mountain for a few times, searching for platypus in rivers, doing some hiking, the penguin colony in Burnie and much more. When you are staying with them you will never get bored. There is a lot to do around the house, Peter and Susie are always making plans to visit someone or some place, friends are coming over and friends and/or other workaways staying at the same time. You will have a very active family life with them, which we enjoyed. But if you like to have some quiet time and enjoy to relax during the weekend or in the evening then you might be a bit overextended :D We would definitely visit them again and hope to see them soon in Germany!

08/12/2019
Barbara and Brian were very welcoming hosts. Their communication prior to arrival was exceptional right down to sending detailed instructions as we were arriving via our own car. The accommodation was very comfortable and we were provided with some wonderful home cooked food. We mainly assisted with collecting firewood from the mountain and taking care of their 6 current foster puppies. We also did other bits and pieces so we were never bored. They were both fantastic when our dog got ill and rushed us to the vet, and we'll be forever grateful for their help.
Feedback left for Come and help for a fun ... by Joshua

08/12/2019
I really enjoyed my stay with Sergi and his wonderful family, they are incredibly kind people with lots of time to make you feel welcome, a great sense of fun fills the house and it was a pleasure sharing meals together. We did a few diff jobs which are always conducted in a considered manner, and the local surrounding town and nature are really fantastic to explore. Highly recommend!

08/12/2019
La finca exceeded my expectations. Is an ideal place for meditation, yoga and connect with nature, as is somehow isolated in the mountains at the same high as clouds, you would find amazing hiking path, incredible sunsets and you'll see rainbows everyday. The work is very light and the people living there are very welcoming and helping. It was a challenge for me to go from big city to this very chill environment and it help me take some important life decisions like starting vegetarianism. Thanks :)

08/12/2019
Valerie has been absolutley wonderful. She has a really great work ethic. If you need help with pressure washing or painting then she is your woman! She gives 110% to her manual laboring. The baby fell in love with her too. We wish her all the best with her new house and return to education. We hope we will see her again.

08/12/2019
Sarah and Vadim stayed for ten days and were a great help on the finca. People that pick up tasks without having to be asked are a premium, as the host does not have to micromanage. Volunteering to clean the horses droppings means they do not shy from the less glorious jobs. We had to take cut branches out of the wooded part of the finca, and they also cut more branches. The heat of the fire that we built was a bit too much for Vadim, but he compensated on other jobs. Great. Taking care of feeding and watering the animals was duly done, and the animals were happy with them as well. This time of the year no watering needs to be done for the plants. The only job on that was the planting itself. Working the soil and preparing the plants to be ready for planting is not a clean job and with frost on the ground it is actually quite hard and cold. Still, they helped without complaints. They also helped prepare lunches and do the cooking, and because at that time two friends were also in the house, we had some nice evenings eating, sipping wine and cava and watching movies. The day they left, even the clouds were a bit sad, it started raining. But even that was very necessary, as the river next to our finca had fallen dry. These two are definitely an asset, and if they ask you for a Workaway spot in your project, do not hesitate, accept them.
Feedback left for Sarah by Help building fences, ...

08/12/2019
Toni & I was very pleased to have Tamara stay with us for a week and a half. Tamara is kind, hard-worker, honest and listens to any instructions given. Tamara has a great sense of humor and very friendly, she told us some stories of her family in Vienna and we felt like we knew them. Toni & I highly recommend Tamara and wish her the very best for the future.

08/12/2019
Shai has a heavy accent which is counteracted by a great sense of humour. So no problems there. Shai is a lovely guy who did all that was asked of him with enthusiasm and some skill. He did well on the tractor dragging logs for instance. Shai also worked hard on the building project in on some days very hot conditions. I was very happy to have his help

08/12/2019
If you are lucky enough to have Chloe and Jack approach you, don’t hesitate to invite and look after them. Very capable, very lovely, very hard working and great fun. Very trustworthy and great with responsibility. Can’t ask for more, we just didn’t want them to go and hope they will come back -thank you guys - totally excellent. ;-))