Workaway reviews, feedback and ratings - page 2


24/11/2020
We are very happy that Olivia stayed with us as a workawayer. Olivia was very brave and adventureous, staying in our remote home in Vinje alone with the female malamute Chilli. They also stayed some time in Bø with me. Olivia learned to give the dogs commands in norwegian. She and Chilli had dayly long walks and became good friends during her stay. Olivia is a very kind young woman who cares for others. It was so nice having her in our home. She helped me with some painting and finishing of the dogyard. She learned me how to make real italian pizza. I think having Olivia as a workawayer was a good cultural exchange experience for us.

24/11/2020
Ralph arrived with little experience, but adapted very quick to all kind of works, he was very motivated, emotional sunshine to everybody in the team. So we overcame together this corona season at the best possible. I'm very happy with people easy to feed, as he is. Hope he will stay healthy, have fun in his job, an d come back whenever he is nearby! Thank you so much!

24/11/2020
It was great having John here! He got all the hardest jobs, and did them with great enthusiasm. No matter how bad the food tasted, he always had something positive to say about it =) Thank you very much for being with us and helping so much, you are welcome back anytime!
Feedback left for John by Gardening, painting, ...

24/11/2020
J’ai passé des semaines très agréables avec Thomas, Marie-Élise et Clément, qui sont des gens très conviviales et gentils. Même avec le confinement c’était très intéressant et j’ai appris beaucoup des nouvelles choses sur les chevaux, parce que ils étaient toujours ouvert pour les questions. Merci pour tous!

24/11/2020
It has been a great pleasure having Colette and Dan as workawayers in our home. They both have a very positive attitude, are open minded and are very easy to get to know. I miss our talks. The dogs loved them and their very long walks together. Colette and Dan showed great interest in the dogs, their needs and how to handle them. They learned to give the dogs commands in norwegian. Colette and Dan also did a lot of extra tasks, like tidying and cleaning - thanks for my "new" shiny kitchen in Heggeli. I can`t forget Colettes delicious crumbles. I learned a lot during their stay and find that this was a proper cultural exchange.

24/11/2020
Hei there! Svane & I spent 7 weeks on Svanhilds and Bjørnars farm in beautiful scenic Børselv! We can highly recommend coming here when you love physical work and being involved in the farm for the whole day! The work includes different projects (digging, building foodboxes, a tunnel, harvesting potatoes, fencing, looking for sheep, etc), you will definitely never be bored. You'll soon find your favourite sheep :) the coop and a soccerplace is very close so why not spending the evening playing soccer under the northern lights?! Svanhild and Bjørnar included us all and made us feel very welcome! Thanks for an outstanding experience so far up in the north of Norway! Svane and Inka

24/11/2020
It was a great pleasure having Fabian with us. Very positive and hard working guy!. He did perfectly everything he did, calm and efficient in his acts, very thorough and pedantic till the end. He is very smart and can easily be trusted with complex tasks. We could trust him with machines, with the tractor, without having to keep an eye, which was a great help. Very responsible and reliable. Also loves creativity and is happy to learn new skills. Enjoys good balance between social and self-time, very respectful to everyone and everything around him, has a very steady and quiet presence. He is always welcome back!

24/11/2020
My experience at Sol’s Finca was absolutely wonderful. The Finca is located in the mountains about a 15 minute walk from the beach and has views of the ocean. Sol is a lovely and gracious host who will teach you so much if you are willing to learn. The work is about 5 hours a day but is very interesting and enjoyable. You get to work with the horses and help make the farm even more beautiful. What more could you want?

24/11/2020
It was great to have Rick with us, we were lucky he chose to join us, although he was headed in the opposite direction…he is very proactive, always up to trying new things and very helpful in many different areas, curious, loves to learn new things and take on new projects, finding the best way to do them. . Loves learning about permaculture and sustainable living. Super positive person, botanic in his heart (passionate about anything that grows and did al kinds of experiments with growing things in his free time). He came with his drone and made lots of beautiful photos and videos for us. Was great in team work, very friendly and got along with all the others. He is welcome back anytime when it fits all his other plans, which he had plenty of….

24/11/2020
We had a great time with Petar, he taught us a lot and we had some really beautiful time in the forest with him, and we are gratefull for everything that we learned there. We stayed one week and a half, but we had to leave due to the temperatures that were dropping. Indeed, we werent well equiped in our van (where we slept), and the wether, mostly foggy and cold wasn’t the ideal time to stay at Petar’s minimalisic house, where there was no running water, nor a proper heating (there was only a little stove that heated one room). If we would have lived this experience in summer, i am sure that we would have been delighted by his way of living. His project was really nice, we enjoyed our work there, and we really wish him the best for the future. We will remember your smile and your great cooking! Thanks again Petar for everything you did for us!

24/11/2020
This place taught me to practice gratitude sharing, and while this review is coming late -- I have to give my thanks to Chris and the experience. First of all, Chris is a wonderful host. He has been spending summers in this place for many years, and can show any newbie the ropes. He wants everyone to be comfortable here, to be well fed, to have fun, and to be truly happy. He would check-in with us often to see if we had any "dirty laundry" to air. He listened honestly to feedback, and was very fair with the work. The work! Yes, it was hard work, but it felt GREAT! I have never felt so strong -- Chris believed in me to mix mortar, to lay cordwood 10-12 feet high, and to teach others to do the same. The work was accompanied by good conversation, excellent music (or the sounds of nature), and the 360 degree views of the forest all around. It really doesn't feel like "work," but just a fun new skill you are learning and perfecting, with the help of great teachers and new friends! The property and stay was another dream -- I got to stay in a small cordwood cabin with 2 beds, a piano, and a cozy wood-burning stove. I have never slept more peacefully in my life. There is an abundance of space -- whether you want to find some solitude in the forest, or relax in the center of things; there is a place for you. A functioning kitchen with running water, power to keep the food cold in the fridge, washer/dryer for laundry when you need it, and plenty of options for a hot shower (my favorite was the one at the top of the hill) -- This place far exceeds all of your basic needs. Finally, the "extra" adventures. Chris knew how much I wanted to visit Glacier National Park, and took 6 of us there this summer. We camped 1 night outside the park, and did 2-3 various hikes within the park. You can tell Chris absolutely loves to host and show people a good time, and he was constantly making sure that we were all having the best experience at Glacier. He also took us to a day-trip to a nearby State Park where we went on an awesome hike and a short swim (I didn't swim -- but the boys did!). Chris -- I have been thinking about you and everyone there so often, and I am so grateful for my time spent there. I am grateful for you encouraging me, welcoming me, and accepting me. I feel like a stronger woman thanks to you and the experience. I hope to come back!! Thank you!

24/11/2020
This was my first workaway and it was a lovely one week experience! Jan is a great host - frequently providing positive feedback and showing gratitude for the work carried out by the volunteers; flexible with our tasks/schedule; kind and understanding. The work is varied - I got to try gardening and a bit of paiting, and do some cleaning. Other volunteers were doing more complex work, like construction. The place is beautiful - facing the Kanal, close to a luxuriant forest and several fields. Calls for some exploring! A couple of times a week, you can join some relaxing Yoga and Meditation classes. I was very lucky and got a massage on my last day, too. Tack så mycket, Jan and Kathleen! :D

24/11/2020
Our time here was really great. The atmosphere was always positive - from morning to evening, both on working days and during free time. It felt very much like being part of a small family or community - always people around to work with, chat to, play games with, watch a film with or just have a laugh with. The work was varied, both weather and time dependent - our tasks included olive harvesting, wood work and maintenance / renovation tasks, it's really just a matter of getting involved with whatever jobs are ongoing when you're there. This made our stay interesting and enjoyable - always something different to do and plenty to learn. In our spare time we were also busy - the surrounding area is beautiful and Angelika & Christoph took us on several beautiful hikes and also rock climbing, which was really good fun - their lovely dog, Mya, joined us too, of course. Thanks again for having us and for all the fun we had! Best of luck with your ongoing and future projects.
Feedback left for Volunteer in central ... by Ellie

24/11/2020
I spent just under a month at Kenneth's which was my first workaway and solo travels away from home and I felt so welcomed and comfortable at his place. The work was perfect for me (physical and outdoors) however there are a range of jobs to do if you would like variety. I eventually became strongly attached to Kenneth's place, he is a calm and kind individual and you will find it easy to spend a long time there, i hope to return one day in the future! Thanks for everything Kenneth and all the best in the future :).
Feedback left for Gardening, painting, ... by John

24/11/2020
Bàlint, oh, what a beautiful story of trust and friendship. First of all, Bàlint had to come before the Covid, then I receive his sad message : he is requisitioned during all the time of the Covid... But, during this time, we kept in touch... The Covid passes by, Bàlint finally announces his arrival to me, it was already as if we knew each other. In France, we had a custom after the Covid, to invite members of the nursing staff to show our gratitude. As a doctor I saw the opportunity to invite Bàlint ! So just "do nothing" , to be "my" guest. But impossible! It was without counting on his benevolent, warm, sympathetic, always ready to help, to cook in a wonderful way, to explode with his powerful and communicative laughter, his joy of life while being a being gifted with an intense reflection. I'm nearly 30 years older than him but we learned a lot from each other . A smart guy who doesn't take himself seriously and who surprises you day after day.( ;) ) So, Bàlint became more of a co-tenant and soon became a true friend. We have shared wonderful moments together, had our Sunday Brunchs and travelled together almost all over the island. The same moments of admiring silences, the same moments of basking, dozing, in the sun on stones to the sound of the ocean waves. I will never forget these moments of intense complicity. Bàlint also has an extraordinary ability to adapt, not only in terms of life, but also in terms of its linguistic memory. For the first time in 30 years I entrusted him with my dogs (one of which was sick, which made me very anxious), yes, I took advantage of his immense heart to offer myself a week in France and entrust him - barely knowing him - with my house and especially my dogs! I never trusted anyone to take care of my dogs! I know that Bàlint likes to travel, I know that he would like (he wishes) to explore other parts of the world, you who read me, believe me, contact me (my face book is easy : valerie ducrocq coupe ), Bàlint will be one of the best Workawayer you will have the chance to meet. So, if you're overseas, you have to go back to Metropolitan France, you can leave everything to him, I answer for it. For my part, I keep in touch with the one who has become my friend, I intend to go and see him in the country where he will work in his speciality. And I hope that our friendship will last for many years to come.

24/11/2020
Ola and Max are a very fun and talented couple. Writers the two of heart helped us a lot to write blogs to increase the traffic of our page. They are very proactive and professional! They have so much experience in their fields and always happy to help in any way. They also helped us a lot with photography during their stay, unfortunately the start of the pandemic led us to end the stay a little earlier. The best thing about the experience with them was spending time and laughter together. They have many stories and it was always good to share them over one mezcal ... or more ... They helped us a lot to create content for our social networks and in the end we were left with a very good friendship that I hope one day we can meet again soon. We miss you so much in Merida guys and remember that this will always be your home. José
Feedback left for Max by Yoga, SEO and social media ...

24/11/2020
Sarah and Freek has been with us for about 4 weeks, and it has been great to have them here. Very easy to have around, and always helpful with whatever task we need help with. A lot has been done by them during this time. Also joining most of the yoga classes that we offered. Everything has also worked smoothly with the other workawayers. We will for sure miss this nice couple.

24/11/2020
Clara is an incredible person who helped us a lot in her time in our project. Always with a smile and a happy calm character, you can have very interesting talks about life and her skills with the camera are incredible, she is so talented! She helped us with promotional videos of our Spanish school, photography and content for our social networks. Anyone who hosts it will be very lucky to have it. I wish you the best adventures and you always have your home in Merida.

24/11/2020
James and Ariana spent about two weeks with us before the pandemic hit this world. They were the last helpers we hosted since then, and still remember the time with them. Very hard workers, they accomplished any type of given work: from stacking wood (and it was a lot!), to help in the yard, and other digital help. Always curios about history, food and culture, we shared with them great moments that we always cherish! They were a perfect fit with my family as they love biking and gelato! We hope to see them again when travelling will be possible and safe!
Feedback left for James by Help with Cooking in Tuscany

24/11/2020
I planned to stay a few weeks and ended up staying a few months- the valley is such a peaceful and beautiful place that’s it’s not easy to leave and return to reality! Phil is a wonderful host, and makes you feel like one of the family straight away. It is a very social area, with friends always popping in for a drink and a chat, everyone made me feel welcome. I also then went on to stay with another local family who needed help with some gardening before winter arrived. At Phils I helped with the garden and the animals mostly but also enjoyed cooking and baking with Anika, Phils daughter. There is a weekly walk you can join in the mountains to really enjoy the area with all the amazing views. We did plenty of other activities while I stayed too- visited some hot springs, a fort, a music festival in the castle, wine tasting, climbing and every Friday a few drinks in the local to catch up with friends. I will definitely be returning - I feel like I’ve got a second home and family now in France.
Feedback left for Help with a variety of ... by Amy