1 / 5

Enjoy the sea and wild landscape while helping us grow our garden in Co. Sligo, Ireland

  • Favourited 36 times
  • Last activity: 12 May 2024



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    My husband and I built a eco friendly house in 2006 and have been developing the gardens since then. We have a large poly tunnel, an outdoor vegetable garden, fruit bushes, an orchard, flowers, wild areas, permaculture and structured hedges and many trees on our 1.5 acre site. It is a garden to be peaceful in, to have fun in, to move mindfully in and to wander and wonder at the beauty of nature in. Two cats, two goats and one sheep keep us entertained - the goats and sheep are “eco strimmers”! There are also hens and bees to keep us busy.
    We also have 2 adult college going children in their early 20s who may be with us during part of your visit.
    We are self sufficient for a lot of the year in vegetables and I love to cook so you can expect healthy, delicious meals during your stay.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We enjoy hosting and those staying with us we consider to be part of the household. We have many pastimes that we are happy to share from beekeeping, cooking vegan and vegetarian food and fermentation. I love to share recipes!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Help is required with gardening - digging, planting, weeding and harvesting - all depending on the time of year. We have an ongoing need for trimming hedges, tidying of flower beds and occasional strimming. From time to time we have small DIY projects to be done about the garden - the ability to use small hand tools would come in handy.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    One bedroom with a double bed. Beside it is a bathroom with shower for your use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Swimming, surfing, beautiful walks, music and culture in Sligo are all within reach. There is a local Saturday market which provides a great opportunity to meet the fantastic local community we have. We are 12 minutes (by car) to the nearby beach. Several buses per day to Sligo or Ballina town. We have a bike for your use

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have space in our driveway to park up a Ford Transit or VW Crafter sized campervan and there is easy access to toilet and shower downstairs in our home.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 797943996543

Feedback (2)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Horse loving person to help with horses in beautiful Donegal, Ireland
Arts and crafts, gardening, baking, beaches, forests, fields and hopefully lots of sunshine in Galway, Ireland