Looking for forest/native plant help in Oregon, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 176 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/01/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello Workaway!

    I think we have a November volunteer but would be open to a January 1 to March 1 situation. It can be rainy and cold but lot son people love the NW forests at this time.


    Hi and thanks to our amazing workaway guests this summer,
    Right now we are full and don't expect to offer any positions till perhaps August or the fall.
    Our style of being outdoors is to have our workaway guests learn through doing and to be a part of a busy garden life. We are not a school and don't offer formal instruction. Its leaning by doing with of course access to experienced gardeners and lots of books and a variety of gardens and eco-systems. A day includes doing what the plants and habitats need and can change with weather and season. Typically it may include watering, mulching, weeding, planting, harvesting and preserving. We think about the pollinators and birds and creating habitat. We love having guests and need the help for this well shared space, but want to have workaway guests who fully understand that they are working four hours a day and feel that the exchange is fair. Four hours of garden work is not for everyone so please be sure its what you think is fair and what you want to do for a week or two. On a food note. We will always offer you what our family is eating but if that doesn't fit your needs, there is a kitchen with basic supplies to cook your own.

    We want you to love your time with us and so its important that you understand what the experience will be, Our guests have enjoyed the lovely views and forest trails and the small town of St Johns and the river parks. They have helped us with our transition to native gardens for pollinators and we appreciate the help.

    Allergies to plants may be hard on a person who has these.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    DIY and building projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are experienced travelers ourselves and love meeting new people. We all have lots to share and teach. We are relaxed and friendly so practicing a language is great. We enjoy cooking and gatherings but are not a party house. We all work hard and value our health and well being.

    We can teach:
    Gardening, native plants, herbal medicine, environmental education.
    I work on environmental justice as related to the river and anyone can join this as they wish- right now that includes making sack breakfast bags for our houseless community.

  • Help

    Help

    Your time with us may vary based on the time of the year and whats happening in the yard and garden. It can also reflect your interests and talents. Come Spring, you can expect to help prepare the gardens for planting. We have pollinator, herb, food, fruit and native plant gardens. This year we are planning on adding a community berry garden. The lawn will need some mowing but we also plant add a natural meadow. We have a small cabin that you may choose to stay in that will need staining and a new deck, if that are skills you have. We live next to a large, natural city park ( Forest Park) and so if time allows, always try to work on trails and removal of non-native species. On the mornings you are doing the chores, you would typically be in the gardens, with other special projects from time to time. I am an herbalist so at some point in the garden year there is harvesting and preparing medicinals. This is a shared space so pitching in to keep things clean and picked up is hopefully a part of the routine.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Tagalog: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room- We have a yurt and a cabin and won't put you with another person unless you come with them. They both have lots of privacy and are nestled next to the forest with some nice views. The bathrooms are in a different building. Barbecues and a pizza oven are available. Outside clawfoot tub available sometimes. The cabin and yurt and next to the forest and fairly private.

    You will have a small kitchen to use which includes a refrigerator and stove but if you want to cook a larger meal, you can use a larger kitchen. There will always be food available to use but I can't promise a meal prepared for you. We are communal and friendly, by nature, so if we are cooking you will always be invited to joints for a meal. The pantry is well stocked with all the basics and there is a gardens and eggs. If however, you want to cook something special you should plan on doing your own shopping. If there is a regular ingredient you love, we can incorporate that into routine shopping. Everyone is responsible for their own clean-up. We are light to moderate meat and fish eaters as well as a vegetarian. Our food is pretty wholesome but not 100% organic. Our kitchen is your kitchen. Rice pot always on the counter. Teas and eggs and good bread and granola and potatoes and beans and grains and veggies are always available. We cook but sometimes aren't home or are just busy so some flexibility.

    Diets - We can accommodate any diet preferences. Your kitchen will have some basic foods for your personal cooking and the garden has lots of food too. We have dinner overnight and you are always welcome to join us. We have a vegetarian and a gluten free member of our family. Lots of Filipino dishes as well as broad mixture of food.

    Yard - The yard has lots of gardens, a chicken coop, picnic tables and places to find solitude. But also basketball and places to run and throw a frisbee.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are close to some fun neighborhoods and bus transportation. The bus stop is about a half mile away at the bottom of a hill. Its easy to get into the city. We would expect consistent work times but all week-end and evenings are free to enjoy Portland. If you don't have a car, you should be comfortable with the walk down the hill and back again. Our guests must be respectful of children, neighbors, nature and other guests. No smoking on the property and responsible use of alcohol. Open communication and respect for our agreements. Its a beautiful setting with lots of trails and views and a sweet walk to unique neighborhoods. Its great for the right travelers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours ,four days a week.

Host ref number: 998542453239