Help outdoors in the tuscan hills between Siena and the seaside, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 116 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi dear travelers,

    since over thirty years my dear parents, originally from Switzerland and Germany, Ruth (59) and Michael (73) have been living in our home in the calm tuscan hills. As everything grows and blossoms, and my mum injured her knee a bit, they need some help with a bit of work outside from grass cutting to flower planting and many little maintainance things from now till beginning of April :). My mum is more the active "doer" and my dad more the insightful "thinker" :).

    Our house is 5 minutes away from Chiusdino a little medieval 1800 inhabitants village between Siena and the seaside. It is an old traditional tuscan natural stone house, with a wide view over the hills, surrounded by fields with olive trees and nature :). In Chiusdino you find everything you need, a supermarket and two small groceries, some restaurants, two bars and a weekly market on thursdays. Nearby is the famous curch without roof San Galgano, a very beautiful place.
    Otherwise the seaside is 40 mins away by car, Siena and Florence between 45 min-1:30 hour by bus. Very nice are also the natural roman hot springs, where you can lie in the hot tubs at night with moonlihgt.
    In general I would very much reccomend to have a car if you come (even though I strongly support a sustainable lifestyle), but I do think that it is so nice to have the possibility to move around freely and see all the beautiful places and landscapes tuscany has to offer. In addition, the public transportation unfortunaltey really isn´t good: bus direction Siena+ Florence 2-3 times a day, direction seaside once a day (bus stop like 20 mins walk from Chiusdino) - hitchicking might be an option though. Of course you can always relax, enjoy the calmness and the sun and go for hikes :).

    Help would be needed for 5 hours, 5 days a week. My parents will provide you with basic, but nice ingredients as pasta, rice, home made tomato sauce, home made bread, jam, some fresh vegetables form the organic garden (depending on the season) and you have the possibility to buy everything you need additionally in the little supermarket or on the weekly market. You would stay in your own apartment with kitchen, bathroom and little terrace.

    It would be best if you are two friends or a couple (or also up to 3 friends) and perfect if you speak some German or Italian :D (my mum speaks Italian, German and some French and no English, my dad German, Italian and English). My parents would prefer someone a little bit "closer" to their age, preferably tending towards end of 20s and above ;).

    Looking forward to hearing from you! :)
    Lia, Ruth and Michael

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Get to know the village Chiusdino, relax in nature, make excursions to the seaside, Siena, Florence, natural hot springs, go to festivites in the nearby villages in summertime

  • Help

    Help

    - cutting grass
    - little maintenance projects
    - terrace moulding
    - gardening
    - flower watering
    - picking olives (in autumn)
    - cutting olive trees

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In an own small apartment with bedroom, restroom and kitchen. Basic but delicious ingredients (home made bread, jam, tomato sauce, pasta, rice, vegetables form the organic garden depending on the season..)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 479736679928