updated  

Help at my dog shelter in Spuz, Montenegro

  • Montenegro
  • Favourited 58 times
  • Last activity: 04/02/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello my name is Branka and I run a dog shelter in the countryside near the capital of Montenegro. I am very committed to the welfare of dogs and running the shelter. I am very sociable and enjoy meeting with people from across the world.

    One of the main conditions to be a volunteer is that you MUST have a driver's license and driving experience, because on a daily basis it is necessary to go to the vet, to pet shops, to stores etc. My official vehicle is a Renault Kangoo pickup.

    I need help to clean the kennels, feed the dogs and prepare their food.
    Volunteers who already have experience in dog care, wood work and in the garden have an absolute advantage.

    I can only accommodate one person in the house, but i could accommodate more if you would be coming in a campervan and if the campervan has a toilet and a kitchen. Electricity, water and WiFi is provided. The shelter is secured by gates and CCTV.

    I am able to provide food and cooking facilities for you to make your own meals, however I am not able to cook them for you as I have too many obligations in running the shelter. I am VEGETARIAN, if you are vegan or use meat in your diet it is necessary that you provide all the groceries in local market and cook them for yourself.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Montenegro is a small country but with a lot of variety. Mountains, sea, plains, you can do a lot of things; hiking, water and outdoor sports, Montenegro has many national parks. At the shelter you will benefit from contact with the animals (dogs) and the nature.

  • Help

    Help

    walking the dogs, cleaning there kennels preparing their food and feeding the dogs.
    doing groceries and helping me go to appointments in the car
    take care of the garden
    do small jobs around the shelter including creating a fire to cook dog food
    help with social networks and internet

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Serbo-Croatian: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    Improve my english and basic french.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a room available in the house with internet but it is also possible to come with a vehicle. You will have private small sanitary area and kitchen if you need but also we can share my kitchen and bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The capital, Podgorica, is 20 minutes away by car or 40 minutes by foot and bus.
    Mountains and sea accessible in 1 hour drive.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    You can park the campervan on my property. However, I am only able to host people with a campervan that has a toilet and a kitchen.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 997982315548

Feedback (7)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)









Join our community retreat and permaculture farm in Kotor Bay, Montenegro