Help with gardening and DIY at our off-grid home near Sanlucar de Guadiana, Spain

Country

Spain

new host  

Favourited 5 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young retired couple who sailed up the River Guadiana in Andalucia 5 years ago and bought a small dillapidated orange grove. We cut down the old trees and planted vegetables and soft fruit trees and rebuilt the tumbled down house to live in Now we have bought the neighbouring finca and plan to use this for visitors (and workaways!) as well as perhaps some chickens and a home for the two rescue horses we have just inherited. We are not commercial, rather our goal is to try and become completely self sufficient. This neighbouring piece of land also has a house on it which needs some TLC which we hope workaways will help us with . We are totally 'off grid' with the nearest village about 7km away by car although it is only 10 minutes away by boat so of course we use the river for all our shopping and socialising. We are into trad. and spend a lot of the winter months both listening to the local music in the towns around us and trying to play some of it ourselves.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is all about being off grid and self sufficient. We are also of course in rural Andalucia so learning Spanish is available and recommended! We ourselves can offer English, French and have working Spanish. We can show you how to live off grid with our power provided by solar and our water, for our own use, for animal use and for irribation pumped daily also using solar. We can also show you sustainable food growing and hope to learn alternative techniques from you. We have recently acquired two horses - a new venture for us- and perhaps you can show us how to care for them better. Accomodation for work aways will be in the house on our 'next door' finca which has a bedroom, living room, kitchen and bathroom. We will provide food and often we will eat together in the evening round a BBQ or a wood fired oven

  • Help

    Help

    Essentially the help we would like is to improve the land, accommodation and facilities on the neighbouring finca. So buliding/DIY/electrical/painting/landscaping/fencing/gardening/animal care.....just about any and all skills/experience welcomed and useful!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We always want to improve our Spanish and can offer English or French in return

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Self contained house where you can stay.

    Or if you prefer bring your own camper van and we can provide power and water or the property we are improving is a stand alone,

    A kitchen for workaway use with food is provided. We will eat together most evenings.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are surrounded by amazing countryside so a huge opportunity for hiking. The river is available for fishing or using as a highway to get to the local villages both in Spain and Portugal. We go out for supplies once or twice a week and will take you with us to see some of the 'off river' places and public transport is available to Huelva and onwards to Seville. We are not the only finca of our 'type' around here so there is the opportunity to move to other hosts......maybe you will never leave!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We can accomodate campervanc but no mobile homes please.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 313521558939