Join our family as a friend in rural Castletownbere in West Cork, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 8 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/11/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We are a family of four, mommy Maeve, daddy Bruno, Hannah is 6 and Matthew is 1and a half. We live in the town of castletownbere in West Cork, Ireland. We both work full time in the local supermarket as a supervisor and a manager with Hannah in school and Matthew in day care. We love to go swimming as a family, watch movies, and taking the kids outdoors is important for us as we live in an apartment. Hannah is enjoying school and loves to have friends over to play, she is involved in several after school activities like Gaelic football, Art and swimming. She is a really sensitive child and enjoys bedtime stories. Her dad works away from the town but occasionally she may go for short visit to him.
    Matthew is a ball of energy! He is so active and just loves to cause trouble. He is learning so quickly and it is so lovely to see. Mom is his favorite at the moment!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Firstly, Castletownbere is a very rural town with the fishing industry being most prominent of industries. So if love fresh fish, this place is for you. There are so many eateries and cafes to enjoy.
    Ireland has some of the loviest scenery with Castletownbere and the surrounding area being up there with the best. I love to live here! I grew up in the area and am so happy to be resining my children here too. We have the only cable car in Ireland taking you to the most remote island called Dursey Island, with a population of less than 10! There are lovely walking routes and mountain climbs to enjoy too. There is an education centre which offers English classes and other basic classes like computer courses and sewing, knitting etc.
    The town itself is small but I can’t actual count the amount of nationalities living here, it’s amazing! From Brazilian to Ukrainian and everything in between!

  • Help

    Help

    We are hoping for a friend to join our family and help to look after our children. The cost of childcare is huge and we don’t have family who can commit as they are still working themselves. I am only expecting help when I am at work. Matthew to be with you all day and collecting Hannah from school. Helping with feeding them, playing with them, changing and fueling their creativity and imaginations. We would throughly enjoy our children to learn the language of the workaways home, as Bruno is Portuguese and it is important for us to pass the language on to the kids.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a Duplex apartment with three bedrooms. Our workaway will have their own bedroom and en-suite with WiFi always available. We eat together as a family in our kitchen/living room and I (Maeve) do most of the cooking. I enjoy cooking and hope you will enjoy to sample our food. I can cater to any dietary needs. We are meat eaters but I try to have fish once a week. Normal dinner time for us can range from 7.30-8. Our workaway will only be obliged to look after lunch for our children but most days I try to have something prepared the night before which normally makes life easier. We would not object if you were to offer to cook us something from your local cuisine.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I am hoping for someone who can blend into our family and make life easier for us all. Your time off will be sacred and you can enjoy it however you see fit. There are plenty of things to do in your spare time like kayaking, walking, cafes, fishing, boat trips, mountain trekking.
    We are generally off work on sundays and I try to do a little housework in the morning and enjoy the afternoon by taking day trips to the surrounding towns or cities. You are most welcome to join us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 996343146554