Help with daily life near the 12 bens mountain range, Connemara, Ireland

  • Favourited 300 times
  • Last activity: 14 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four living in picturesque Connemara, in rural Ireland. We are looking for help with gardening and housework in return for comfortable accommodation during a fun cultural exchange. Our back yard is a river, waterfall and mountain range, with cattle, sheep and occasionally horses roaming around the surrounding farmland and commonage. This is a great opportunity for you to learn a bit more about Irish food and culture, explore all the beautiful sights in Connemara, Galway, Westport to name but a few places within easy driving distance.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are very friendly and love meeting new people. We like to make you feel part of the family. If you need to practice English, we can help you with that. We can also recommend local places of interest and help you with your sightseeing plans.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with general housework, cooking, cleaning, organizing, gardening (weeding, mulching, planting etc), occasional help with pet care, taking care of firewood.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    We usually try to learn a few words in the native language of our workawayers. We can also help you improve or perfect your English.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own ensuite bedroom in our home, share meals, conversations and good times with us. Hope you like animals, as we live with a cat, dog and 2 hens. There are also some animals in the surrounding area: sheep, some cattle and horses occasionally.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you like hiking you are in for a treat, as we live at the foot of the 12 bens mountain range - a very popular mountain hiking trail. There are lots of sights to see in the area - forests, beaches, castles, ruins etc. We are 16 kms from our local coastal town Clifden, with lots of shopping, pubs with traditional Irish music and lovely pub grub, post office, churches, hotels and restaurants, beach with boat club. We are also situated 16 kms from the seaside village of Roundstone, which has beautiful beaches, pub food, restaurants, home to bodhran making. For those of you taking public transport, we are 1 1/2 kms from the main road where you can get a bus to Galway, Clifden etc. We drive to these places occasionally also, so we may be able to travel together then. We usually go grocery shopping in town once a week. We are located 1 hour drive from Westport, another lovely coastal town, and 1 hour drive from Galway. Our closest village of Recess is 8 kms away and has a shop, post office, pub with traditional Irish music and lovely pub grub, craft shop and even a hardware store if you need it.

    While you stay with us, we can discuss all the other wonderful sights you can see within a couple of hours driving distance.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 578898261634

Feedback (14)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
















Experience life on an Irish farm and visitor attraction in Louisburgh, Co Mayo Ireland
(Experienced people only) Help a family with their dairy farm and stud in East Galway, Ireland