1 / 4

Lend a hand around our old farm house in a lovely area near Weikersheim, Germany

  • Favourited 60 times
  • Last activity: 1 Jul 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks



  • Description


    We are looking for helpers starting beginning of May until end of July 2025.

    We live in a nicely renovated more than 200 year old farm house in a lovely area, the Tauber Valley. We are sustainable and mostly self-supporting, we grow vegetables and fruit in our garden and make juice, wine and beer of them. We offer a great opportunity to exchange cultures as we want to host several volunteers from different countries at a time.

    The farm is situated in a small village. The next town with train station and all kind of shops is only 4km away. It's a very beautiful area with many things to do and to see, nice landscape like the Tauber and Main valleys, beautiful old towns like Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Weikersheim and Würzburg are close with a lot to discover. Bikes for the volunteers are available. If you can not cycle at all, you are quite stuck here, it's not a place for you.

    In summer a few lakes just round the corner invite you to go swimming.

    If you are interested in German language you can practice, if you don't care about the language, it's fine with us. We are quite fluent in English and as we have several volunteers at a time the daily language is English.

    We know how volunteers think and what volunteers expect, as we like to volunteer in the wintertime ourselves.

    We don't have pets or children, not because we don't like them, it's just, we don't have the time. But there are enough kids, cats and horses in the neighbourhood to play with if you like.

    We ask volunteers to stay at least 3 weeks, else it's too much in and out and too much time wasted for explaining. In very busy times (i.e. beginning of October) we might make exceptions.

    There's almost always something to do in the garden. If you want (and only if you want) you can help with the bees (we don't make anybody help with bees who is scared of them, just tell us).

    The weather here is moderate, it's not too hot in summer. If the weather is bad there is always something to do in the house. Else most of the work is outside.

    It is a farm, but it is not physically hard work, so suitable also for women. But you have to be a bit fit, bring some decent shoes (in spring and fall halfway waterproof hiking boots) and older clothes that are allowed to get dirty. There is a pile of used cloths now you can use, too.

    We usually start at 10:00 and work until 4pm with a ~1h lunch break (5 hours a day, 5 days a week or 6 hours a day 4 day a week, depending on what's needed). Volunteers prepare their own breakfast and dinner (we provide you with all you need), on workdays we all have lunch together.

    Weekends off for volunteers also means weekends off for the host and we are often gone. So communication on weekends might be slow and pick up and drop off at the station during weekends needs to be discussed with us in advance.

    We have to plan the rooms and the tasks of the volunteers as we want you to have a pleasant stay here. If you make a reservation we also expect you to show up. In case your plans change, please let us know asap. Before arrival, please let us know a few days in advance when you plan to arrive, so we can make arrangements to pick you up at the train station. If we have confirmed a reservation, you can count on us, just as we count on you.

    Volunteers should speak decent English, i.e. be able to make conversation. This is about cultural exchange and language is the key to exchange. English native speakers should speak a foreign language halfway decent (it doesn't matter what language, even if it's Urdu or sign language) but speaking (or trying to) a foreign language shows that you are really interested in cultural exchange.

    All we want is to have a good and relaxed time and fun.

    If you plan your trip: the nearest airports are Frankfurt International or Stuttgart. Munich is possible, but a bit further away.

    Please tell us a bit about your way of travelling and your travel plans and in which way you want to contribute to cultural exchange. Where are you from, where are you now, from where will you be travelling to us and what are your plans after your stay with us. This way we can help you organize your trip.

    Depending on where you are from you might need what is called a "Schengen"-visa. It is then valid for most European countries. There is no volunteer visa or something like that. You come here as a tourist.

    Please google schengenvisainfo and how-to-apply-schengen-visa for more details, as links are not displayed here. This applies mostly to travellers from Asia and Africa. Americans (North and South) and Australians/Kiwies usually don't need a visa. Please check this first before applying.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers can learn how to bake bread, how to cook good meals with basic and healthy food, how to make wine. Our area is full of history, remains from a village from the stone age are just behind the house, also a village from the celtic aera. There are several medieval cities within easy reach, as well as beautiful castles and churches.

    We love to travel, too, so we love to share our experiences from all over the world. We enjoy exchanging stories with other persons.

  • Help


    We can use a frew extra hands around the house and especially in the garden as we produce most of our own food.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    We speak very basic French, Spanish, Italian and are sometimes in the mood to improve it, but don't rely on these skills, you should speak decent English.

  • Accommodation


    single or double room (if you travel as a couple). Volunteers share bathroom and kitchen. It's a separate floor in the house with a separate entrance.

    We provide all the food you need, but usually you have to prepare breakfast and dinner on your own (or even better together with the other volunteers).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You should be able to ride a bike, it's a very bike friendly area. We have enough bikes for everybody. Train station and little town are 4km, interesting places and a lake for swimming in summer are within easy reach.

    Weekendtrips: Munich, Stuttgart, Nürnberg, Bamberg
    Daytrips: Rothenburg, bike ride along the valley to Wertheim, many other places of interest nearby
    after work trips: swimming in the lake, bike ride to Weikershaim to have an ice cream and a look at the beautiful castle (google) have a beer in Niederstetten, just enjoy the sceenery taking a walk around the village.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 992421899972

Feedback (22)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Join our vegan family and help with our small "farm", animals, garden and house in Wendland, Germany
Join our family in Schöffengrund, Germany