updated  

Create, live and enjoy the beauty and tranquility of Zuid-Limburg, Netherlands

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We (Judith, Jurgen & Juliette) are a small family that is trying to build a place to grow old (in the long term that is :)), not only for the three of us but also for the (in total 4) families we hope to accommodate on our premises in the future in a cohousing project. A dog and many free birds in the garden complete our herd for now.

    We think sharing our way of living and learning from others would be great. And we hope we can travel-while-at-home when working together with energetic volunteers from all over the world.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are happy to share all our knowledge of Dutch culture and language, and discuss all we know about sustainable building (never enough, but a good start), architecture and project management. If your skill level is still low: no worries, we can work together on improving it (as we are every day improving our own under-development skills and knowledge).

    We love cooking and have a well-stocked kitchen, so if you want to learn about weekly meal prep, try plant-based cooking and pick up some new recipes, joining us in cooking is definitely an option.

    And ... you would be staying in a real Limburgse Hoeve.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Remaining availability in 2024
    September 23 - October 18
    October 28 - December 20

    We are working on building new homes for a group of 4 cohousing families that can live here in the future. Except for the high roofs we want to do everything ourselves. That is why we keep investigating sustainable and doable options for non-experts (such as ourselves).

    While we are building we are asking for help in the maintenance of the premises and help in the building work.

    Examples of tasks we are working on:
    - clearing out ground in the garden for our self cleaning swimming pond
    - woodwork & painting for walls (interior and exterior)
    - placing panels & insulation
    - brick layering
    - wooden floors & tiles
    - maintenance of the vertical vegetable garden & creation of more vertical structures for it
    - maintenance of our edible garden & creation of more areas we can harvest from in the future

    A stay of (minimum) 1 to (maximum) 2 weeks is preferable for us.

    We'll evaluate together with you after a couple of days if expectations, tasks/work & living together work out the way we all hope/plan/want.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Improving our languages on the job would be excellent, especially our French and Spanish could use some improvement, but training in any language will be fine. We are happy to share our knowledge and train you in the Dutch and English language.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a bedroom in the house available for our 1 or 2 (sharing a double bed) volunteer guests. Teams of 2 are very welcome!

    Advice from a previous workaway-guest: bring warm indoor shoes :)

    We usually work on weekdays between 8:30 and 15:30 with plenty of break time. Weekends are off.

    Meals for our workaway-guests are provided all days during the stay and we have regular coffee/tea breaks. We close off the working week every Friday with a 'weekendfeestje' with a snack to celebrate the weekend. By the way: Judith and Jurgen eat planted-based-ish and Juliette is vegetarian (except when she eats salmon maki).

    You will be part of our household during the stay, so you can join us in all kinds of activities, sports, puzzle and movie nights, walks, cooking & more. This also means we trust you to participate in regular chores; so crown yourself chief dishwasher or 'setter and cleaner of tables' during your stay, or go with the flow and see what you can help with on a day-to-day basis.

    We appreciate it if you bring your 'signature dish'-recipe and cook one evening (or more) during your stay (& it is okay to pick your new favorite signature dish from our cooking book shelf). Of course, we can help with cooking (& learn from you).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The surroundings of where we live in the southern part of Limburg are wonderful (for hiking & biking). You can borrow our bike for a ride if you want, Or borrow our dog for a walk :), he really likes that!

    If you like swimming, bring your swimsuit because there is a great (in & outdoor) pool at a cycling distance.

    The train station is 15 minutes on foot and the train takes you easily to Maastricht & Aken or Heerlen - where you can make a tour to visit the many outdoor murals. The train station Klimmen-Ransdaal was voted - again - to be the best train station in the Netherlands.

    No smoking in the house and buildings (preferably not at all), no drugs, moderate alcohol

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have good wifi (yes in a part of the garden too) and on most of the terrain good 4G/5G too, so digital work in the garden is definitely an option.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 4 days a week

Host ref number: 643721971521

Feedback (17)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.9)


























Looking for extra help in our community farm in Netherlands
Discover a great city while helping on a green community project in Utrecht, Netherlands