Helping at home while enjoying the beautiful island of Skiathos, Greece




Favourited 655 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Description


    July 2020

    We did it !! We found our paradise in the mountain (on the island), we bought it and now it is time to get ready to move ! So... Skiathos is still covid-19 free and we are doing our best to keep it that way :) but the island is as beautiful and welcoming as ever :)
    This summer, we'll need help for various tasks. As always, Rainbow (the dog) would need to be taken care of when we're not there but we'll also make boxes all together AND you can live with us the beginning of this amazing adventure, while we're moving up to our forest :) What do you say ?

    January 2019

    Hello dear friends and happy new year !

    Life is full of joy and surprises, so here we come with new challenges for you :)
    A new (human) baby will join the team in July and we plan on having found a nice plot of land to move before that. Sooo... What do we need ? Help at home, like always, and someone to take care of our dog when I have to go to the mainland. At some point, we'll start the boxes again and you might even be here when we'll find our dream-land so we can imagine/design it together !

    We hope to see you soon :)

    February 2018

    Hello, my dear, dear friends !

    We wish you all a fantastic 2018 full of trips, love, new experiences and amazing discoveries !
    We are in a kind of stand by right now. Between projects and still not completely finished with opening the boxes full of books and toys coming from the play lounge. The teenagers website and garden are still in the theoretical part so, when you'll come, we can't be sure we'll offer you any real interraction with teenagers or children. But you can still help in the garden, in the unpacking, in the webdesign, de painting, cooking, cleaning or come to spend some time relaxing with us and we are sure you'll find things to do :)

    See you soon !

    September 2017
    Hello, dear friends and family !
    Here I am with our new projects :) This (school) year, we'll start two different projects with the island's teenagers. We'll help them create a website and a youtube channel where they'll present their life on the island during the 4 seasons. You will be able to help them takes pictures and videos, edit them, look for new ideas etc.
    We will also start a community garden.
    So if you have video-editing, pictures-taking, gardening skills or none of those but are willing to help anyway, we'll be waiting for you :)

    August 2017

    Hello to all of you !
    We have some bittersweet news for you.
    The play lounge adventure is coming to an end. We had 3 amazing years, playing, dancing, singing and having fun with all of you and the children of Skiathos but it is now time to do something else. We don't know what exactly or when it will be ready but we know we want to keep having volunteers at home.
    We will keep you posted about the next projects and if, in the meantime, you want to come to Skiathos to help at home, discuss in French or English with Joyce or just spend time with us, send me an email :)
    Our previous profile will stay here... But I just changed the title.

    We live in the beautiful Greek island of Skiathos with my 6yo daughter and decided to open a play lounge where children of all ages could play.
    It was a long adventure full of stress but a beautiful too because we got to meet some amazing people coming to help us.
    So beautiful, we had the honnor to be chosen as the host of the month of February 2016 (you can see that on workaway's blog)


    Hello to all of you !

    Life is beautiful on our little island... The winter is particularly rough this year so our little friends don't really go out very often but we can almost feel the summer wanting to come back...
    This year, we'll try to have as many long-term volunteers as possible, in the summer so if you want to come for 2 or 3 months or more, just let us know ! If you can just come for a few weeks... We'll be waiting for you too, of course :)

    Higher need starts in April/May, when the sun is already there but the temperature aren't too high, just high enough to enjoy the beach for long hours :)
    We'd love to have a vegan cook with us... Will that be you ?

    See you soon !


    Hello world !
    The summer was amazing, thank you :) The toursitic season is over, our beautiful island get quiet again and absolutely perfect for hikes and walks in the mountain. The play lounge is calmer too, but our lovely children keep laughing and running around. We need less help than in the summer but we still do need help... Do you want to come ?

    Help needed in April, May, June and July !

    Hello world :)
    Tourist season is starting ! Our busy season is starting too and we need help :) As I said, i still don't know what will happen after July but, right now, the time is absolutely perfect to come ! There are a lot of kids to play with, the weather is wonderful to hike and even swim and there are not too many trourists yet, the beaches will be all yours :)

    If you love children and playing, and if you want to spend a few weeks on an amazing green island, we are waiting for you !

    25 February

    Hello world !

    Summer is approaching, get ready !
    Actually, to tell the truth, our team will be changing a lot in the coming months, so I can't really answer yet to anyone willing to come during the touristic season. The weather is already getting warmer, though, and we are looking for people in March and April to play with the kids. Do you want to come ?

    Lots of love !

    3 December

    Hello beautiful travellers !
    Our adventure continues in a very exciting way. As always, we have a lot of projects, a lot of new activities ready to appear and a lot of room for you to be part of it.
    Unfortunately, right now, finances are difficult. Until March/April, we won't really need a lot of volunteers and, more importantly (because if this wasn't the case, I would have no problem to host all of you), I can't afford to feed a lot of people. So... If you have something particular to suggest, some kind of workshop for kids (or grown ups) or talent, send me a message and I'll do my best to make it work. I really hope money won't be a problem anymore in the future but right now it is. So... Don't hesitate to send me a message :) and if it is possible, I'll be more than happy to have you here

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We always have at home volunteers from European programs, you can be sure, when you come, that wou'll meet (usually) interesting people from all over the world.
    Other than sharing your own skills with the others, you'll be able to learn from them too, to discover new tools and techniques, to play with a green screen...

  • Help


    New projects started, the tasks are not very clear yet but, well...

    The main help needed right now is taking care of our dog as I start feeling too heavy for long walks and we'll have to go to the mainland now and then.

    During school-time (in the summer too but... less) :
    We'll organize a lot of activities in the afternoon for the older local children. If you have ideas, you're welcome to share them with us ! The two main projects will be a website and a Youtube channel about the kids' lives in Skiathos (you'll be there to guide them) and a community garden (you'll help by sharing your knowledge but also with practical help)

    During summer :
    We continue as much as posible the school projects but the idea would also be to organize group activities and games at the beach with local kids and tourists.

    As there will always be at least 2 or three more volunteers, we'd love you to share your knowledge and skills with everyone, so we can all learn together.
    Lunch and dinner are prepared by the whole team for all of us and everyone is responsible for keeping the house nice and clean.

    Of course, all those tasks are separated between the volunteers, you see together who wants to do what and when :)

  • Languages spoken

    Greek: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    For the couples and families, we have one room with a double bed, one with 3 single ones and for all the others, we have a huge living room full of beds and couches.
    We also have a van with 2 double beds. Some volunteers have even camped in the garden. I'll keep you posted !
    We have a cat at home who spends most of the time outside, in the summer but inside the rest of the time. And a dog who would looove to go explore the mountains and the beaches with you.
    Look at the pictures for more details.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    More information and pictures will arrive later. If you're a family with young children, the kids are welcome to come just to have fun too !

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5hours/day (with 2 days off) will be expected but you can stay and play as long as you want ;)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 989672248777