Help with our home garden and arty projects in Victoria, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 209 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    407

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 17 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! 🌞

    We are a family living in a spacious home that was once a dairy factory and is now a PALACE (sorta). We have a big vegetable garden, an orchard full of fruit trees (not currently in season), a big lake that’s perfect for canoeing and nice for a swim (but its super salty), a variety of animals both big and small, and a home that will make you feel welcome.

    The winter months are finally coming to an end and we are beginning to come out of hibernation! Our main event of the year BELTANE is held in November, but there is much to do in preparation before this. We will start taking Workaways soon to help with pre-festival work. The longer that you can stay the better! Those that can come early and stay on until after the festival are prioritised as we love to have all the help before, during and after the event that we can.

    We are a happy crew who like to be productive and creative, and we love having people stay who share these values. We also enjoy cooking together and sharing meals, our kitchen is always the busiest room of the house!

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Priorities at this time of year include (but not limited to)
    ~Picking olives and preserving them
    ~Planting garlic
    ~Working on the vegetable garden
    ~Cooking food and maintaining a functional kitchen
    ~Keeping the animals fed + entertained + loved
    ~Help with never ending house renovations
    ~Organising the costume and craft rooms
    ~An abundance of creative DIY projects.
    ~Lake forshore cleanup
    ~ FESTIVAL INFASTRUCTURE
    ~ Festival decor creating


    We look forward to connecting with you!

    ~~~~ Sometimes the house is busy and full of people and activities, other times it is quiet with only a few of us here. Both are lovely in their own way. It's constantly changing so you have to be prepared for both ~~~~~


    🌞🌞🌞🌞

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live a social and energetic life with lots of involvement in the community.
    You would also be likely to make friends and connect with all sorts of people that come through our home.

  • Help

    Help

    Some current jobs are garden prep and maintenance. Some tiling/mozaic work as well as other creative installations.
    Interior decor, making up curtains and other decorative stuff, accessing the extensive materials available.
    Lots of interior and exterior building projects going on.
    We would also love someone who enjoys being in the kitchen, cooking and cleaning etc.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers are invited to stay inside in comfortable, private or shared bedrooms.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live within a shortish drive from the Otways, the great ocean road and the Grampians.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week








Host ref number: 987957757849