Experience life and help us with renovating a century old stone house in Stara Zagora, Bulgaria

Country

Bulgaria

Favourited 10 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/06/2021

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello :), we are a young family (Koko and Yani) and are now in the process of moving to the countryside for constant living, farming good food and a more meaningful existence close to nature.

    It all began in March 2019. :)

    For the purpose we bought an old stone house with 0,3 ha of land (currently jungle) and real natural water source in the plot. The house was made from the stones of a nearby Roman fortress (like most other houses in the village) and clay bricks.

    The idea is now to renovate the house which will be done with only natural materials like clay, lime, biomass and stones.
    To achieve all this we have some preliminary experience but mostly learning in the process with a lot of help from experienced friends. We definitely need a little more helping hands and of course good intercultural company.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It is quite unique that the world is so full of possibilities nowadays to travel and meet common thinkers. The most amazing thing is that we are still very different in terms of culture and personality an our opionion is that we should stay so in the long run. But sharing the good between good people around the world is somehow very fulfilling and overall emotionally positive.

    The area around the village is quite picturesque, situated in the low mountains. A mineral bath place is available some 15km away. Some people compare it to Toscany even. There is plenty of options for scenic walks around. In the past the village have been inhabited by 1800 people most of who grew essential oil plants. Now there are only 40 people registered in the village and the farming has been largely abandoned as an income source.

  • Help

    Help

    We will learn together and work together or independently. Accommodaton and food supplies are provided for free, but you are expected to be able to cook for yourself. The reason is that unfortunately we cannot be at the village all the time (especially during the week as we work in the city) as we still need to make money to finance the house reconstruction, so you will have plenty of time on your own.

    We would love help with activities that need to be done depending on the stage of the project:
    - gardening and taking care for the plants
    - natural materials masonry
    - making the automated watering system
    - help in making the natural water pond
    - construction works (incl. stones)
    - work towards achieving energy independence
    - help with other daily tasks

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Bulgarian: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Bulgarian, English, Russian, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    One of the rooms in the house is equipped with two single beds for a good night sleep. We must warn you that the village is quite silent at night and it feels like you are staying in the forest. Unfortuantely we cannot stay in the house when guests(you) are there yet, because the rest of the house is being worked on.

    Overall xonditions at site will also be slowly improving day to day. At the moment it is a little messy. A proper indoor bathroom is missing. The outdoor solar shower is very cosy for the summer though. The toilet is a compost toilet.

    The cooking place is outside. Fridge and cookstove are available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Two buses (morning and evening) go back and forth to the city every day. Plenty of free time activities are available around the village, mostly related to natural sightseing, mineral baths etc. We plan to have one mountain bike available at site for free soon. :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Anybody welcome, unfortunately we do not have Wi-Fi readily available on site. Nevertheless if you use a good roaming data package cell coverage of 4G is good. :)

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Campers or caravans up to 10-12 metres could be parked in front of the house. A small issue would be having a little steepness exiting the place. Nevertheless it is nothing than cannot be achieved with any normal car.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Any type of good-intentioned creature is most welcome. :)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Whatever you feel comfortable but useful with :)



Host ref number: 689775449255