Help with our family outdoors projects and experience life in the countryside in Sweden, typical swedish foods and the nice little town of Hjo which has a lot of old wooden buildings

  • Favourited 10 times
  • Last activity: 28 May 2024



 Min stay requested: 1 week or less



  • Description


    We are the a family - Tobias 33yo is currently studying and coaching Crossfit, Elinor 37yo is on maternity leave with our little daughter Cleo who is 6 months. And then it´s our son Alfred who is 5yo.
    We live in our selfmade strawbale house on the countryside a few kilometers outside of Hjo. On the property we also have a nice and cosy 15sqm tinyhouse with a hotwater outdoor shower and a lovely southfacing deck that will be yours for the visit.

    At our place you will find it very nice and quiet with fields on 3 sides. There are neighbours about 50m away but it´s summer houses that never make a noise (when they are there).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You get to experience how it is to live on the countryside in Sweden, typical swedish foods and the nice little town of Hjo which has a lot of old wooden buildnings. At our place you get the chance to learn some old swedish crafts like how you paint with tar, how to build different structures and how we need to sometimes addapt builds because of our cold climate. We would love it if you have some experience in woodworking or gardening to be able to work independently as well. Since our house is a strawbale house we can teach about that. We have also been volunteering in New Zealand for 7 months and worked in Australia for 3 months. We love travel so that is a topic we love to talk about and share experiences. We like to live outside of the normal "wheel of life" and spend more time with our kids and have made many differnt decisions to make that happen. If you are interested in that we´d love to share our experience.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We have many projects running and more that we would like to start this year.
    - We want to paint the tinyhouse with a mix of tar and linseed oil. We have done it on the big house and it looks amazing. We also need to change 2 windows because the old needs some repare and paint.
    - We are building a mobile sauna that is going to look like a beach hut that is very iconic for Hjo. This projekt will start in january 2024 and finish hopefully before june.
    - We are going to make an area in front of the house with raised beds to plant a variety of veggies and berrys.
    - We will start to prepare another area of 300sqm where there will be planted raspberrys.
    - We want to make a brick compost so that we can start to compost all our green waste from the garden and eventually.
    - We need to build a railing and stairs to our outside deck to make it safe for Cleo when she starts to move more.
    - And many other projects :)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    The tinyhouse is 15sqm and have a bunkbed with 140/90cm beds. There is a small kitchen with everything you need to cook except oven. A small bathroom with a separating toilet and a sink. The shower is outside (hot water) on the deck in a nice seashell shape. In front of the hose you have a 15sqm deck that is southfacing with a view of the field. We also have a barbeque area in the garden that you can use by yourself or together with us.
    We will stock food for you in the tinyhouse after we have discussed preferences with you. We would like to share some meals with you to get a good chance to exchange experiences. We will decide this together :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It´s very close to some beautiful walks in the forest from our place. There is a recreational area just 1,5km through the forest (5km with car) with mtb-tracks, outdoor gym, frisbeegolf and runningtracks. If you want to go to Hjo it´s 6km down to the harbour. You can borrow bikes from us, but we live on a hill so it´s a workout going back ;)

    If you have a car we can recommend multiple places to visit that is very nice within 60min drive. But Hjo itselt is well worth a visit. With it´s location next to Vättern, Swedens second largest lake, it is a very nice town with a good amount of small shops, cafés and restaurants for a small town. During summertime there is a free pool right in the harbour and a good sand beach next to the harbour.

    We had the tinyhouse on rental last year and a lot of guests loved the calmness up here and left comments about that the beds were very comfy.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We are arranging a parking place next to the tinyhouse on a grass field.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 999432267869

Feedback (2)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Family help at our farm house in Tived, Sweden
Contribute to creating our dream home right in the heart of the Swedish wilderness, Horndal