Help us with our animals and garden projects in Tasmania on our 15 acre farm in the Huon Valley, Australia

  • Favourited 261 times
  • Last activity: 14 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We have a 15 acre farm in southern Tasmania close to a town called Huonville; right in the centre of the cherry and apple farming district. We are not a business, 15 acres is a hobby farm.
    My husband and myself live on the property along with our cat, 3 dogs and many farm animals! We have sheep, turkeys, chickens, ducks and quail. We are walking distance from public transport which is very convenient. There is a superb local bakery a short walk from our home and the Huon river is also walking distance. You will have three meals (+ morning and afternoon tea) and your own room in our house. We look forward to having you come stay!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have experience managing a farm, working with sheep and poultry. See how fencing is done how to run irrigation systems and learn how to make cheese. See how baby chickens, turkey and ducks hatch! Experience the beauty of the Huon Valley - potentially some local bush walks and true farm life.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for an individual who is willing to help look after some of our animals and help in the garden. No previous experience is necessary. A helpful can do attitude is essential. Overall the day to day running of the farm would be part of your tasks. Feeding the animals, collecting the eggs, cleaning, watering, moving the grain to the chicken pens.
    Most of the work is light duties.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your accommodation will be in the main house in a spare bedroom/office. You will share the bathroom facilities with the rest of the family. You are responsible for keeping your room tidy at all times.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    When your chores are done, Huonville may provide all you need for shopping, swimming and bike riding.
    In Huonville there are local shops, cafes, library and clothing stores. Places to fish, ride and swim. My daughter loves to adventure and can take you to some local bush walking tracks and river spots.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 166118489524

Feedback (16)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (4.6)

Communication: (4.5)


















Help our friendly family with various projects in Henley Beach, South Australia
A space for conscious people to live off the land sustainably in NSW, Australia