Experience life on a real working cattle ranch in Alberta, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 172 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/11/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young family, 2 kids and have a cattle ranch in Alberta where we do as much as possible horseback. Horse experience is welcome, but definitely not a must. There are many other chores to do which don’t involve riding. We also have a horse facility: training, boarding and lessons/clinics. We enjoy meeting new people and we have had many great helpers over the last 10 years; from Switzerland, Australia, Austria, France, Netherlands, Germany, France, Sweden, Denmark and Mexico. We can get you in touch with some of our previous helpers if you would like to hear about their experience at our place.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn English and learn about life on a real working cattle ranch. Also opportunity to learn how to rope, join the weekly riding lessons, come along to gymkhanas, and watch or participate in clinics.

  • Help

    Help

    You would be helping with a little bit of everything: feeding horses, cleaning a few paddocks, checking water systems for cattle, help around the house, painting, mowing, fencing, taking care of our other animals (cats, dogs, chickens). A great asset is also if you like playing with the kids.

    If interested, there will also be plenty of opportunity to come with us to ride horses and help move cows, check herds etc. However how often or what you ride will depend on how well you ride. We won’t let you ride any horses you are not ready for. I do expect help in the house but nothing major, just help like doing dishes, preparing supper etc.

    We do need someone who can work independently and doesn't need to be told all the time. We are a family farm, so it's just us working here. We are easy going, and we love helpers who want to learn and want to be involved, have a “can do” attitude and like to be part of the family.

    We prefer a help to stay a minimum of 4 weeks. A longer stay, will mean more learning opportunities for you and we are able to invest more learning time in you when staying for a longer time.

    This is not a guest ranch, if you are looking for a relaxing holiday, this is not the place. If you think it’s going to be like McLeod’s daughter’s, this won’t be the place either. This is a real working ranch, and things don’t always go as on TV.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    private bedroom in house or RV

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live close to a small town, we have had workers who liked going to church on Sunday. We are more than happy to connect you with people there. Elk Island national park is about 20 min drive from here, and Blackfoot Provincial park is about 10 min from here. We live about 45min from Edmonton, you are usually able to catch a ride with someone. During the summer there are lots of rodeos and ranch rodeos in the area.

    Public transport is pretty much non existent, so if you want to go out and see things, you might want to either rent a car or buy one. We don’t make special trips to get our help out, but when possible, you are welcome to come along with us when we go somewhere.

    Since we raise beef, we eat a lot of meat. Sorry, no vegetarians since it gets too confusing for the kids.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Possible, please discuss it with us.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 984977512251