Modest household with a spare room and several volunteering options in Istanbul, Turkey




Favourited 91 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 26 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Hi, I am an engineer who lives alone in beautiful city of Istanbul, in a safe and pleasant residential area Bahcelievler.
    I use workaway both as a host and workawayer because I believe in people helping each other and old social wats besides I like meeting with new people and having a different experience.


    Mainly, I'm looking for volunteers to help me with learning and improving my German. But might need help on other things as well. Please read the Help Required section carefully before writing.

    I accept max 2 weeks of stays.

    I don't provide any sponsorship/help/invitation letters for visa. Visa and insurances are your responsibility.

    At the moment I can accept only one volunteer at a time.

    You will have your own room. Bathroom, kitchen and living room are shared areas.

    You must provide for your own food. There are 3 different supermarkets in 5 minutes walking distance.
    (I'm sorry, at the moment I can't offer to include the food, because I need to take care of my weight and be on a diet only including simple food for health reasons. But my previous workawayers, no matter how many times I said or wrote here, I can provide basic food and I shouldn't be gaining weight, they insisted on fancy food they want. It is better if we keep the food separate and if you'd like to taste something Turkish, I can prepare but not everyday. Most Turkish food are slow food and takes long time to prepare. Please do not try to negotiate this. )

    You have full access to the kitchen as well as the living room.

    I wake up early and do not stay awake till late hours at night. If you can adjust to my sleeping habits, we will be synched and it will be better. If you are a person staying all night awake, waking up at noon or later, and doing this everyday, this is not the place for you.

    I try to do yoga at least twice a week and walk everyday.

    This is a home stay and it is important to get along well with each other. Before accepting your stay, I'd like to know you over a video call.
    Also I expect you to share the responsibility for cleaning house/ ironing etc. I expect my guests to contribute to daily house chores which is not much and general cleaning which usually I do once a week. I don't see this as part of volunteering job. This is a homestay and we become like flatmates, using the same area. So cleaning after yourself is not considered a volunteering job here, but a natural part of life.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am a certified PMP and PMI-ACP besides having coaching and mentoring skills. I can help you guiding your work and goals.

    I'm interested in entrepreneurial management. If you have ideas we can talk. I managed many teams during all those years. I enjoy listening, talking and encouraging people towards their expectations and goals. I can be kind of a mentor to you. If you'd like to make some reference projects, I'm open to listen them and see how I can guide or help you.

    If you like I can help you learning Turkish, or share recipes from Turkish cousine.

  • Help


    the help I need:

    - I'd like to improve my German. Recently I took a B1 Goethe Certificate exam , the modular one, passed all test with very good results except writing.
    I'd like to achieve at least a C1 level. Somebody with good teaching skills in German would be really helpful.

    -I also know some Spanish and last year passed DELE B2 exam. When I take online exams, my level appears to be C1 but my writing in a defined limited time period is poor. Somebody with good teaching skills, not to forget the language besides improving my writing skills would be helpful.

    People experienced with adult teaching or studying teaching professions are more welcome as language tutors. And I expect you to write me how you plan to teach me.

    PLEASE READ: Please do not write me if you are planning to teach languages by watching movies listening to songs etc. I already do these things. There are plenty of resources on internet. I don't need people showing me links of movies or songs.

    If you have any of the following skills, you can write me. I'll see what we can do with those and try to fit your visit in my calendar.

    - skills related to create a website: graphic design/coding/SEO optimisation
    - skills related to app development : design / coding
    - skills related to e-marketing and e-commerce, social media, content writing-editing
    - moving/carrying furniture to rearrange rooms
    - writing business plans/ market research
    - industrial designers who can do product designs and prototypes.
    - yoga teachers
    - chinese reflexology massage, acupuncture therapists
    - eye healing with bates method

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, Turkish, a little German

  • Accommodation


    The flat has 3 rooms, a living room, a bath and a kitchen.
    You will have your own room. It has a bed, sofa and a nightstand.
    I have a study room you can use that as well.
    The living room, kitchen, bathroom are shared areas.

    Important rules to follow at home;
    1- No Alcohol, drug and smoking.
    2- Mine is a traditional Turkish home. Shoes stay in front of the main door. Walking inside the flat with shoes not allowed whatsoever.
    3- No uninvited guests or strangers.

    No TV at home.
    No elevator at building. I live on 4th floor.
    Central heating system.
    24/7 hot water.
    unlimited internet

    I sometimes have short term guests from another guest site sleeping on Couch in living room as well, though volunteers will always have the priority since they will be helping me.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you haven't been ın Istanbul before, you can see the historical sites in old city, all palaces, visit the princess islands, I can show you the beautiful coastline at Florya where I sometimes go for morning walks. There are many cultural activities as well.
    If you are interested in studying at a university or become a language teacher in Istanbul, you can search for opportunities. It is all up to you arranging your time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    2 hours per day 5 days a week

From a visit to Eyup mosque in Sep.2017. A peaceful and spiritual place.
family fun time with my niece and nephew
A view from the balcony of my flat in 2017 Jan and yes, in Istanbul it snows. It is not a desert !
I had this photo in 2016 when I visited Köln, Germany. I keep it dear because it was one of my few travels not included any business :)

Host ref number: 983266213843