Help us with gardening tasks and more in rural Kent, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 284 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    73.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family who live in rural Kent, surrounded by pear/apple orchards and agricultural land. And we need help with our rather large garden (this is weather dependant) and other help around the house - jobs that we would normally do ourselves (we are very practical so never pay outside contractors) i.e. painting, cleaning, clearing, fixing etc (dependant on your skills) but if you help us then it gives us more time to do other jobs/work or spend more time with our children. Our house is old so needs constant work - especially our living quarters which have not been updated.
    In return we will provide accommodation and all your food (vegetarian and often organic).
    Your accommodation is very private but you can come into the home whenever you want to eat, socialise, talk, learn etc.
    We like people to be sociable (no phones at the dinner table), friendly, fun, interact with our children (you are welcome to help out with the children too), polite, tidy (not too tidy just respectful of our home).
    We want you to experience life with an English family but also have a thirst for seeing things nearby - history, culture etc. We don't want someone who is going to sit on their phone/laptop on social media - it's such a waste : )
    We have great knowledge of Kent and it's history and culture and know lots of interesting people for you to meet and learn from. We play sports (lots) and you are welcome to join us at the training sessions. We have a piano and enjoy music.
    We love animals. We have two dogs, two cats and many hens. You are welcome to take our dogs on walks,they are lots of fun. So you need to be an animal lover as our animals are part of a family.
    Sandwich is close by (a medievel town), Canterbury (with it's abundant history and amazing Cathedral), London is only an hour away by train (we lived in London for 15 years and visit regularly so can take you there/assist with places to visit etc). And we can help with English lessons too (and Maths/Physics/IT) : )

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in rural Kent but close to Canterbury, an hour from London and 15 minutes from the sea and Dover (with ferries to France).

  • Help

    Help

    We have around 2.5 acres that needs constant work - weeding, a new vegetable patch, taking a portacabin down, putting some fencing up etc. If you have a specific skill, we many be able to use it. : ) We normally do everything ourselves and never pay outside contractors so if you help us it will enable us to get things done quicker and give us time to spend on other tasks or with our children. : )

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and a little French and Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A double room with en suite shower room in a seperate annexe but next to the house. You will share meals with my family (two adults and three children). Vegetarians who eat fish now and again.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are near to a bus route but also happy to drop you off places locally. Lots of lovely footpaths. Nearest train station is 3 miles away with a direct link to London.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 982611531469