1 / 5

Help with dog sitting and housesitting in a small country village in West Dorset, UK



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    I live with my husband James in a beautiful area surrounded by nature, close to many local attractions. We live in a historic old house. We have four very affectionate dogs, two of which are rescue. We are looking for people who can look after the animals and house when we are away. Also I am involved in a mentoring programme for young offenders which sometimes means I have to be away for a few days so at these times we need someone who is happy to walk and feed the dogs. Good for animal lovers as we also have one elderly cat, lots of chickens and one runner duck. We welcome people of all ages and backgrounds. We can cater for all dietary requirements.

    My husband James, enjoys fishing, he has his own bees and grows plenty of fruit and vegetables for our own use in our lovely walled garden. Everything we grow is non profit and any surplus we donate. So you will never go hungry! James has recently returned from a month in India doing yoga teacher training so if yoga interests you, you are welcome to have a go. I am also a gong practitioner and could introduce you to a sound bath.

    In your free time there is a huge variety of things you could do such as foraging, visit Dorchester, Sherborne, Cerne Abbas with the famous giant or Bridport a local arty town, go to the beach, Jurassic coast, spend time with the animals. Straight from the house we have many scenic walks and we live next to an historic church. We have a car that you are welcome to use as well as bicycles.

    There is a pub in our village.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a beautiful part of Dorset surrounded by countryside, where you can benefit from living in a typical English village and historic home. We are also happy to show you around the area. For animal lovers you will get the opportunity to be around four affectionate dogs or if you are new to animals this is a great opportunity to learn with friendly easy dogs. We are interested in other cultures and learning about them and we enjoy tasting foods from around the world.

  • Help


    As above help needed with our four dogs, who need regular walks and looking after while we are away. We have two Labradors and two rescue Shih Tzus and one very sweet elderly cat.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Happy to help those who want to improve their English.

  • Accommodation


    We can offer you a bedroom in our home and a bathroom, of course if you wished to camp this would be absolutely possible, or if you lived in a van etc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are able to give you access to a car. There are many things in the local towns - Bridport in an arty young town with lots of cool shops, cafes and things to do. There is the world famous Jurassic coast in the costal town of West Bay. There are beautiful walks and towns all around us. We are also two hours from London by train and can collect you from the station, and an hour from Bournemouth if you wished to visit these places. We can of course offer you recommendations based on your interests and future ideas.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have good Wi-Fi so no problem for digital nomads.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 732239682265

Feedback (32)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)

Join our community of residential volunteers supporting our homeless people at our village community in Edinburgh, UK
Help us with childcare in Ely, UK