Help out cleaning, looking after the dogs and cats and painting our home in Rahane, Helensburgh, Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 162 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    25  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    171

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there, we are Ben and Craig.

    Thank you Workawayers as we are now fully booked till the end of the year 2019. We would also like to say a big "thank you" to all the Workaways who have stayed here and helped since 2017.

    We are looking for people for next year, 2020, working both outdoors and indoors.

    Outdoors: digging, carrying rocks, gravel and type-A-hardcore up the hill, concreting, building walls and steps, weeding, planting, pruning, cutting down bushes.

    Indoors: cleaning and painting.

    Indoors and Outdoors: looking after 4 dogs and 2 cats.

    We have a large house and garden, which we are turning into a Bed and Breakfast and glamping establishment within the next 3 years. We both work full-time and are looking for support around the house and gardens to help us get it ready as a business over the next couple of years. We will also be using the B&B as a retreat as well for Leadership Coaching, as Ben is a qualified Executive Coach, and therefore we really want to landscape the gardens to reflect a tranquil environment. Much of the work is manual labour.

    We live by a Loch called Gareloch on the West Coast of Scotland which is an area rich with beautiful landscapes and history, and will be very happy to show people around the area and introduce them to the sights and history. We have 2 cats and 4 dogs which are very much our family. We are great cooks and enjoy entertaining and supporting those who wish to learn more about Scotland and its history. We may also need help looking after the dogs and cats.

    Craig is a senior manager and Ben runs his own consultancy business so are able to also support though business coaching.

    Overall the work is mainly manual; digging, lifting and carrying bricks and rocks up the garden, building walls and paths, also looking after the animals, cleaning and occasionally painting. Please do note that the work can be hard especially in the garden.

    Please do get in touch if you're interested in staying with us and helping out.

    Happy travels and visits to you all wherever you go.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are great hosts and will take time to assist people with their language skills, take them out and about the area to learn more about the West Coast of Scotland, show them the sights; Arrochar Alps, Loch Lomond, Glasgow and areas around the City. For those that are interested in Coaching we also can coach you to improve your Coaching skills, sharing techniques and practice.

  • Help

    Help

    As the winter comes we will need help indoors with the 4 dogs and 2 cats, painting and cleaning, and when the weatehr is reasonable work outdoors.

    From March to September we are looking for people to help out in the garden with tree and bush cutting, digging, creating landscapes and rockeries, planting and maintenance, taking down old buildings and helping to build new ones, laying drains and moving earth and rocks. The work is very manual. We will also have odd jobs around the house; painting and cleaning. Also help to look after the dogs and cats occasionally.
    - We do expect a minimum of 5 hours a day between 09.00 - 17.00hr, and for that we ensure you get good accommodation and food.
    - For those who like to 'go the extra mile', and are willing and keen, we are happy to take you out and about around the area and treat you to the cinema, restaurants and attractions.
    - This is a work for those who are motivated, keen, have initiative, are good working on their own and with others, and are happy to do hard, manual work.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    A little French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have 5 bedrooms with 1 bedroom with an ensuite which is used for rentals, a main bathroom, and downstairs shower and toilets. You would be very much part of the household and share all other amenities within the house; Sky television, internet, a sitting room, a dining room, a study/library, sunroom, scullery and large gardens.
    Breakfast would be a help yourself as well as lunch, and the fridge and pantry will be well stocked, however we will cook all evening meals and all meals at the weekend.
    As you will be part of the 'family' we will expect you to clean up after yourselves and share in the general cleaning of the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Although in the countryside, we are about 20 minutes from the nearest Town, we have local bus services - 1 every hour, taxis and a train goes to Glasgow every half hour from the local Town. Also we go through the local Town every day on our way to work so can drop people off on days off. We are 15 minutes drive from Loch Lomond and the Trossachs one of the most beautiful areas of Scotland.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours max, 5 days a week

Fernbank in Winter - Obi and Bubba enjoying the snow
Antoine (L), Guillermo (C) and Mocha (R) - Workaways whisky tasting at Auchentoshan
Your hosts: Craig (L) with Archie and Ben (R) with Freya.
Half-way through digging out 14 tons of earth at the upper garden - thank you Micah
The Big Pond getting a rework
David Marin's pond ... Putting a wall round it
This bit of the upper garden is being dug out to level it - see other photos
View up the Gareloch towards the Firth of Clyde ...taken from halfway up the garden
The 'family'...clockwise from top left; Connel, Bubba, Obi and Kaylan

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
















Host ref number: 982239978299