updated  

Help with animal care and more at an animal rescue charity near Aberfoyle, Scotland

  • United Kingdom
  • Favourited 909 times
  • Last activity: 07/02/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Help with animal care and maintenance at an animal rescue charity in Central Scotland!

    (Potential longterm/permanent live in sanctuary assistant manager position available for the right person/couple too!)

    **WE CAN ONLY ACCEPT PLACEMENTS WHO LIVE IN OR CAN GET TO UK INDEPENDENTLY, WE CANNOT HELP WITH VISA SPONSORSHIP **

    Come and stay in a caravan, pod or converted horse lorry on our animal sanctuary next to the river near beautiful Aberfoyle in The Trossachs, central Scotland!

    Please note WE CANNOT ACCEPT PETS, OR CHILDREN, no matter how well behaved!

    The charity manager is an older lady who's health is not great and we need caring reliable people to help her care for the wide variety of rescued animals we have here as well as help with maintaining the site and other bits and pieces as needed!

    We have 23 special needs dogs including Chihuahuas with heart problems and multiple blind Labrador types. We also have guinea pigs, rabbits, goats, donkeys, 2 cows, sheep, ponies, horses, chickens, tortoises, a bearded dragon, snake, cats and erm I think that's it!

    A lot of your time will be spent supervising the rescued dogs here, sitting with them and giving them company, making sure they are ok, please only apply if you would be happy sometimes spending a few hours at a time doing this! The dogs can be noisy!

    *** IMPORTANT!! PLEASE NOTE ***
    Can't quite believe I'm having to add this update haha but here we are...please PLEASE be aware BEFORE applying...working with animals involves cleaning up poo! It involves mud, dirt and smells. The living and working facilities are BASIC. There is NO RUNNING WATER INSIDE THE ACCOMMODATION, it is close by! You cannot shower more than once or twice a week. The shower is off site. You must be happy in your own company at times, this is not a community living situation, tho there are other folk around! Please, if you can't handle all of the above, this is NOT the place for you!! If you're hard-core and not phased by this, get in touch!! 😆❤

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Elderly Companionship
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The area around our sanctuary is truly the heart of Scotland! Aberfoyle and The Trossachs is only a 10 minute cycle along a beautiful safe cycle path and has all amenities like co-op shop, pubs etc.

    A bicycle can be provided as well as lifts to the towns if required. We are close to Loch Lomond as well as Glasgow, Edinburgh and Stirling.

    Our sanctuary is home to 130 rescued animals and the rewards from helping care for them are huge!

  • UK chairty

    Registered charity

    This host is a registered charity in the UK and is looking for help with their charity project.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help caring for the rescued animals at our sanctuary, from guinea pigs to horses and everything in between!

    This involves mucking out, feeding, watering, grooming and exercising as well as cuddling and loving! We'd also appreciate help with general maintenance and odd jobs around the sanctuary, plus possible admin/social media help! Opportunity to host tours and animal encounters for the right longterm people :) Our site and facilities are basic and rustic, if you want luxury and fancy this is NOT the place for you!

    We are looking for kind, caring, hard working people who are willing to turn their hand to whatever is required to assist the charity manager with the day to day running of the centre. The work is not easy but is highly rewarding and offers great opportunities for seeing Scotland!

    IMPORTANT!! VITAL INFO...PLEASE READ!!

    You MUST be comfortable spending a lot of time with LOTS of dogs who can be very noisy!

    You MUST be comfortable with dirt, poo, smells, bad weather, basic living, the cold and hard work!!

    If ANY of that is an issue for you, or if you don't like getting mucky, or if you can't take instruction or you need pristine facilities and regimented order around you or need handholding and lots of support, please please don't waste our time or yours by asking to come! 😆
    Thank you! ❤

    ** Due to training involved, MINIMUM placement is 1 month but longer is preferred.**

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation will be in either a comfortable cosy caravan, or wooden glamping wigwam, or converted horse lorry, all of which are right in the heart of our sanctuary! There is a Portaloo on site, and full shower/washing facilities are available for you to use nearby, but SHOWERING DAILY WILL NOT BE POSSIBLE so please be aware of this! Each accommodation has BASIC cooking facilities and there is the possibility of some shared meals but you would mostly be preparing your own food. We are happy to take you to town for supplies etc but these need to be purchased by you, unfortunately as a small charity we can't afford to provide your food unless you were to be part of the team longterm and willing to train to host tours. There is running water on site for washing/dishes etc but NO RUNNING WATER IN YOUR CARAVAN. Please be sure this will all be ok with you before applying, thanks!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Minimum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 396272616661

Feedback (9)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.4)

Communication: (5.0)











Join us for a British family homestay in London, UK
House and pet-sitting in London, UK