Help us explore permaculture practices in our backyard in Surrey, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 2207 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    87  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1043

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 15 days

  • Badges

    Photographer
    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ** Due to the owner dealing with some health issues we are currently only taking long term volunteers with a driver licence !


    
In 2017 we packed up our little family and moved from the busy city of London to the countryside ( well only an hour away ! )
    We have since been exploring permaculture practices in our backyard.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We see the forest here as a metaphor for experiencing nature's rhythms and the interconnected relationships which, in turn, inspires change.

    Possibilities for new friendships are made and a ‘sense’ of community is created when working with like-minded people. Through exposure and intention, we can ALL teach and learn from each other that will inspire new ways of being in the world that shape kinder societies. Being around new people helps us to generate fresh ideas / new perspectives. Words from our daughter: sharing is caring ;) 

  • UK chairty

    Registered charity

    This host is a registered charity in the UK and is looking for help with their charity project.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    It’s an ever-changing space and activities are constantly changing depending on who’s in residence, our current focus and season.

    We would love help with: Organizing, landscaping, orchard pruning, medicinal garden upkeep, permaculture practices, working towards Zero-waste, cooking, carpentry, foraging, bee-keeping, harvesting for the foodbank, writing, building, compost making, animal care*, mushroom growing, cleaning, restoration works, equine-assisted learning, matinence, documentation . . .

    ...Harvesting the Physic Garden, mulching the sensory garden, planting the food forest, orchard, raking the Living Yoga Mat, meditative spaces...

    *Animals ( chickens, horses, cats, pigs, wildlife and sometimes alpacas! )

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A shared bedroom + bathroom... basic!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    FAQ’S

    "What's your food sitch?!"
    We are open-minded when it comes to an individual's needs and can buy gluten + crap snacks if preferred. We deeply respect slow food, yet you’ll also often find that we end up with a cheeky little pizza delivery etc! There's loads of comfort / easy food in the cupboard and freezer if no one is up for cooking! We will always provide a full pantry for you complete with natural and organic dry goods, fresh vegetables + many speciality items for gluten, dairy, meat-free. Nut-free is something we cannot accommodate for atm.

    “What do I have to bring with me?”
    We provide a bed with linens/blankets, towels, food.
    Bring clothes + footwear for the weather, good vibes and a head torch. 

    “Do you offer Internships?”
    Have offered internships up to a Masters Level.
    If you have an internship as a part of your studies please send us a link and tell us more. 

    “Do we have to do things in the rain?”
    If only sun brings you happiness you might need to volunteer further south OR learn to sing and dance in the rain (and work.) Rain or shine, baby!

    “Do I need to be super(wo)man to help here?”
    Kind of yes. The property is on a very steep hill and the work currently requires people who are VERY physically fit and able-bodied at this time. :(

    “What’s the process for staying with you?”
    If we haven’t already invited you, reach out! We will ask some q’s, run a police check, references etc.

    "What's the area like?"
    The home is within a couple of minutes walking distance to the "Devil’s Punch Bowl. “
    The Devil's Punch Bowl is a large natural amphitheatre and beauty spot and is the source of many stories about the area. The rich and diverse landscape has helped to inspire many great artists and authors, and you will also enjoy an invigorating walk/ride all year round...Take advantage of the stunning National Trust commons!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 25 Hours / Week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)



















































Host ref number: 112324896419