Off-grid living, permaculture and sailboats on Cape Breton, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 32 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey there!!
    We are Bibi and Cam, currently living the off-grid dream in rural Cape Breton, Nova Scotia. We are located 10 mins away from the village of St Peter's. Last year we were able to build a straw bale house with a solar power and rain water catchment system. We have been Workawayers since 2014 and love its lifestyle. It has allowed us to travel the world while getting to know lovely locals along the way. The plan here is create a sustainable living system whereby we can meet most of our food and water needs, from resources found and/or cultivated on the property and in our experience this only comes from a days honest labour. We work hard and play hard!! We like to get our hands dirty and our backs sweaty cause then that dive into the lake at the end of the day is oh so much sweeter.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers wishing to stay with us will learn everything from basic work skills and the use of all types of tools to the set up all types of off-grid living systems. As well, the basics of permaculture, organic gardening and forest management will also be part of our summer work load. Also, we have a PY-24ft sailboat for those wanting to learn how to sail on Canada's largest inland sea. Where we live in Cape Breton is a microcosm unto itself, full of local colour and music.

  • Help

    Help

    This coming summer, we’ll have quite a few projects on the go, firstly being the building of an extension onto our existing home. As well, we’d like to build a full wrap around deck for future evenings of wine sipping and BBQs. Other projects will include work on the sailboat (in and out of the water), greenhouse permaculture gardening, native forest management, and general property maintenance, including the upkeep of the solar and rain catchment systems. With all these off-grid projects, we’ll be happy to teach those of you interested in their overall set-up and function. Anyone who is able to swing a hammer or dig a hole, is more than welcome!! (Especially those with gardening and permaculture experience)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a slid-in camper, perfect for 2 people and is very separate from the main house. While being nestled in the woods, the camper has a propane fridge, stove and heater as well as a comfy sitting area. As a former Workawayer, we have learnt the value of having our own space while working with our hosts and have set our property up accordingly. We will provide breakfast food for prep in the camper but would like to share the main meal of the day, around 5pm, together at the main house. We have bikes for use and the lake is only a 10min forest walk away. We go to town regularly and anyone staying with us is more than welcome to come with us for a small taste of civilization.
    Since the main house is still under construction, we don't have a "normal" bathroom setting yet. I can offer a portable toilet to be used in the camper or you can use our outhouse if you prefer. Also once summer hits, we will be bathing outside with camping showers, but if the weather is not warm enough, you can bathe in the house with bucket bath.
    We’d like to host couples or two friends traveling together so they can share the camper ( good for 2 people sharing one bed) and we can also offer a tent ( with sleeping mats and sleeping bag) or a space to pitch your own tent in case the camper is being already occupied. We lead a very simple life style, not luxury and limited facilities, if you're up to it, you're more than welcome!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 10 mins drive from town where you can find a laundromat, groceries store, restaurants, post office etc. There is lots of entertainment in town with live music at the tavern and the main pub. There are beaches and many trails very nearby where you can spend your time off. This is a very special area with loads to do.


    Cam is a musician and a builder, who is more than willing to share his skills with all enthusiastic learners. He is also intent on the value of sustainability, a goal we keep foremost in my mind while making all everyday decisions. Bibi is a highly enthusiastic and accepting of other people. She is also willing to learn and pass her knowledge of language, culture, travels and cooking to others,

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Dogs are fine

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 981345448353