Help with carpentry, painting, and gardens in the quiet countryside of Northern Skåne, Sweden



Favourited 61 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    ***We are currently focusing on a few carpentry project, so please reach out if you have these skills***

    My partner Martin and I are working on a rural restoration in project in the beautiful countryside of Northern Skåne. We have a home built in 1906 which we've updated with contemporary design sensibilities. We intend to plant a small orchard and grow some vegetables. We have two outhouses we wish to restore as both sleeping quarters and creative workshops. The area is vibrant with a defunct quarry full of clean water for swimming 100m from the front door. Many lakes are within a short walk, and trails for running in the forest. The old quarry building nearby has been restored as an art gallery and community hall. We have visions of a floating sauna on the quarry and other community installations. Work will be varied to include painting, planting, garden maintenance, and/or some digital work. We will provide healthy food (there is an organic farm butik in town), a nice place to sleep, and occasional tours of the area. The house has very fast wifi and an ever increasing selection of books.

    We do still have work in Copenhagen so we are sometimes away from the home. Because of this you may sometimes be at the house alone therefore best for those who appreciate some quiet time alone, or those travelling as friends or a couple. Furthermore, if you have a vehicle-that will allow you to explore the area if we are not here.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will benefit from learning about rural restoration projects, design in nature, organic gardening techniques, community building, art and creativity, swimming, Swedish countryside living, and relaxation.

  • Help


    ***Currently refinishing a basement and beginning an outhouse build.***

    Painting, Garden design and maintenance (edible plants, organic practices), home maintenance (painting, cleaning), carpentry (skilled carpenters are very encouraged to reach out), research (for community fundraising initiatives), community maintenance projects (do the neighbors need help?)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Danish, Swedish

  • Accommodation


    Current accomodation is a comfortable bed in the house, full kitchen, fast internet, books, and garden.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We will provide healthy food for participants when we are present, otherwise we will provide a stipend for food. Time off can be spent however you would like including exploring the surrounding forest and lakes, working on creative projects, working remotely (excellent fiber optic internet in house), visiting nearby museums and towns; visiting Copenhagen or Malmo by train. When we are present we can provide rides to and from the store and other sights.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours/day, 5 days/week

The kitchen: it is finished now :)
Our friend Sofia climbing around the functioning quarry
The closest lake to our house (10 min walk) with boats that you can take out paddling
A midsummer dinner party
The lower garden which we plan to plant a lot of edible plant in
Painting in progress !
Forest trail running out the front door (also mushrooms!)
The defunct quarry for swimming!
Swimming in the quarry
The former power station which now serves as an art gallery.
The quarry: 100 m from the front door and a beautiful place to swim, walk, or relax.
Our upstairs bedroom with a round window overlooking the garden.
The living room: great place to read or enjoy the fire.
Host ref number: 929719914513