Stay with our family and help renovate a historic house in Roscommon, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    69.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 4 who relocated from inner city London to the west of Ireland. We moved to a former Bishop's Palace and have spent the last 4 years doing the house up.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The house you will be staying in and working around is architecturally interesting and steeped in Irish history. There are a number of similar historically interesting sites and buildings locally, from megalithic tombs to castles.

    There is a lot of traditional Irish music played locally.

    You would learn about historic home renovation.

    If you stayed with us you would be an extended part of our family. We would hope to be able to teach you about living in a rural setting: tending animals, Irish cookery, music and traditions.

    we would love to meet and learn from people around the world, particularly languages, music, food and traditions.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We have large gardens which we need help with weeding and general garden maintenance.

    We would really appreciate some help with house work keeping the kitchen clean and tidy, hoovering, washing, ironing, window cleaning and dusting.

    If you have a local dish from your homeplace we would love to try it!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We would love to improve in the languages we have some knowledge of and would like to expose our children to a variety of languages also

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A double room with ensuite bathroom with bath and shower.

    All meals will be provided. Guests will have access to a fully stocked kitchen. We may ask guests to make an evening meal once or twice a week so that we share food together from around the world.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The nearest town, Ballaghaderreen, is 4km. There is a supermarket and a number of shops as well as a gym and swimming pool. Slightly further afield are Sligo and Carrick-on-Shannon which have all the facilities you would expect of a large town: cinemas, restaurants and a theatre.

    There is a large number of outdoor pursuits available locally: fishing on Lough Gara and Lough Arrow, horseriding, kayaking, clay pigeon shooting. There are a number of walks in the surrounding area.

    Transport is limited. There are national coaches to get to Dublin. There is a local link bus that goes from Ballaghaderreen to Sligo and back twice a day. There may be the ability to use a car provided a number of conditions are met.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There are large grounds around the house and there is plenty of space to park.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 979275531681