Website, social media and story telling skills needed in La Union, Valle del cauca, Colombia

  • Colombia
  • Favourited 228 times
  • Last activity: 20 Sep 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    We have a lot going on and we can provide a great way to get more in to colombian culture!

    We receive people that are traveling all over the world by bicycle, motorbike, 4x4 or small campervans, to provide them a relaxed and safe place in an authentic non-touristy countryside village 3 km from a lively town.
    We also organize adventures like motorbike rides and paragliding.

    We have a fruit garden where campers or tents are pitched. We also have some rooms for rent for people that like to stay for a longer time. We have big communal space for relaxing and sharing food.


    We are looking for a couple of different workawayers:

    - Help needed for online marketing, update our website and socials. (making a marketing plan for the next season).

    - We need with help cooking and cleaning and be social with the guests

    We are looking for a person that speaks English. Hands on mentality. Preferably a basic level of Spanish but not necessary. Likes to stay at least longer than 2 weeks.

    Dorm room on the farm. You can pitch a tent if you have one.
    We provide healty breakfast and a big lunch but we don't cook vegan or vegetarian. If you have food allergies be aware that we are not your place. we have a little shared kitchen that can be used.
    the main kitchen is being used for commercial use. Wi-Fi is available and hot water shower.

    ---For more context read below----

    Hi everyone and welcome, we are Tim and Isa, we are a couple made in Colombia ;).
    We are making our dreams come true by helping our family and friends to make the best out of life. We are organizing (motor) tours in and selling specialty Coffee in the Netherlands to make all other projects feasible. We work with our family on all our projects. We have a Finca (farm) where we host people (Overlanders) and start or end our tours.

    First, let us introduce ourselves and let you know how we ended up in this area, and after we can tell you about the property, how to get here and what we can offer you. also please excuse us we are not writers, we are just a couple with dreams.

    Hola!! I am Tim. Born and raised in the Netherlands. Well, I learned a lot of life lessons from my travels in the last 18 years, we are all alike, but do have some different views about different subjects around the world. In my former life, I was working for money to make new experiences, I never hated my job, but it was also not fulfilling totally. The first couple of working years were in hospitality, I loved it. Working in a team with sometimes long hour days, but the smiling faces (from customers and team members) as a result were priceless.

    After I finished my study I went traveling for a year in Southeast Asia and got a job offer at a hostel in Cambodia (epic experience). After a couple of months, I left to do some small jobs in Australia, money was needed. Here I made up my mind to go back to The Netherlands and settle down and go for a job that fitted my study, Marketing. I worked 6 years for a company in sales/marketing, I learned a lot but it was not the kind of life I wanted to live. I had a couple of travels in south and Central America and fell in LOVE with Colombia. The friendly faces and vibrant culture! With some help from my beloved friends and family, I made the decision...

    Fast forward to now, I am living in Colombia and got married in 2022 to Isa. We are restarting our business now with the whole family.
    For me, this adventure is about sharing and making memories and making more people smile!

    My motto: A day without laughter is a day wasted.

    Hola!! I am Isa and I´m from Venezuela. I studied to be a Chemical engineer. I left Venezuela in 2017 due to the social and economic crisis, it was horrible. I arrived in Colombia with many hopes and dreams.

    I met Tim (the love of my life ☺️) in Medellin where I was working. Through his eyes, I learned to love Colombia's culture and nature!! And since then we share together the dream of seeing us grow, have as much fun as possible and hope to make many people happy.

    I am a Venezuelan university professor, a lover of nature, reading, good cooking, hard-working, cheerful, persevering, self-taught, who emigrated due to the serious crisis that is plaguing our country and that does not allow us to live, only to survive. I am looking for new directions, a new beginning in this great country.

    I left Venezuela in search of new opportunities since as we all know Venezuela is in crisis and in Colombia I have the opportunity to work and live with a better quality of life, I like cooking, nature and I like the people who visit us feel good as in your own home, I am cheerful, optimistic, I love music and sports activities and always be ready to help. My motto: in the union is strength.

    We would like to invite you on an adventure, come see where we live, enjoy nature or city life away from the tourist trail you’ll experience the beauty of Colombian people, the friendly finca (farm) lifestyle, the real Colombia.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are located in the middle of the Colombian grape region that you can explore. Also our area is famous for one of the best Paragliding spots in Colombia. We have some hammocks you can use. We are willing to show you around the area, since we are located on a valley we have a lot of farms around. This farms consist of grapes, papayas, melons, dragon fruit and others that you can visit. Our surrounding mountains are gorgeous with several hiking trails you can explore too.

    We can teach you everything about Colombian coffee, dancing, about the area and the culture and we can share our lovely family life!

  • Help


    - Help needed for online, update our website and socials. Help us tell our story better. (In English)

    - We need with help cooking and cleaning and be social with the guests

    -want to build with bamboo? We are in full swing.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    Shared room on the farm. We provide healty breakfast and a big lunch. No vegan or vegetarian options. We supply a kitchen for use, Wi-Fi is available andhot water shower.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    To get to our location, you can get a bus to La Union, Valle del Cauca from surrounding cities like Cali and Pereira. From other cities you may have to take 2 buses. The price may vary depending on the location you are coming from. It’s about 15.000 COP to 20.000COP which is about $4.00USD to $7.00USD. Once you arrive to La Union bus station we will pick you up. We have 3 small museums that you can go visit by bus. Museo de la uva y el vino (http:/). Museo Rayo (http:/, Toro museum or casa de la cultura diogenes piedrahita. One of the best things here in town is that people here are super friendly. We are also located where the world championship of parapente is hosted, we can contact some of the pilots to flight you around. It cost 180.000COP.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    La Union (the farm) we have fiber 250 Megabite

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This is possible.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 915618158316

Feedback (9)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)

Join us to teach English in Comuna Trece Medellín, Colombia
Learn Spanish and help teaching English in an authentic Colombian town in El Llano, Colombia