Come and join us on our little lama farm - help out with daily routine and try ceramics in Austria

Country

Austria

updated  

Favourited 703 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    47  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/09/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    692

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a 3-member family Jasmin and Walter and our little 8 year old daughter
    ...we live on our small old farm with our 4 adorable, cosy, friendly Lamas, our incredible love-giving goats: Trude, Luise and Schnucki and our chickens and ducks and keep some bee´s for honey.
    We would call ourselves a fair and nature bonded Family that loved or still loves travelling around the world, we try to give our best to live sustainable, in summer we grow our own veggies around the house in our small gardens and every free plantingpot we find ...hihi...grow our own chicken and get eggs from them keep some bee´s for our honey

    IF YOU DECIDE TO CONTACT US, please provide us with the following information:
    - Which of the tasks you can help us with (see section "Help")
    - Preferred time and duration of your stay. Please check our calendar first for availability!
    if calendar is red- we are NOT FREE ;-)
    - Tell us about your interests, background and why you would like to stay at our place
    We prefer your profile updated with the description of you and your skills, some photos of you, your age etc.
    -What we are looking for:
    - Our minimum age limit is 20 years. We prefer people who have some years of work experience.
    - Due to limited space, priority is given to individual travellers and couples- rather than friends.

    What we are searching:
    We could need a helping hand here in different things: :-)
    - our regular work is depending on the season-
    -Craftsmanship, such as painting, fence repairs, or the design of the workshop or the garden, are continually falling.
    In case of an exchange, there is simply an spontaneous working alone or together where there is just need for man -
    most of the time mixed up with the daily routine that has to be done ...like feeding the animals or cleaning the stables,
    ....and the skills you bring - or preparing for Workshops, or fairs, or we help the eco farmer ...
    as as the interests you have - so sometimes you will work alone, sometimes we all work together-
    everyday is different ;-)
    -and every year we focus on another Project in or around the house- as far as we can get ;-)
    >This year we wanna build a new Roof in my pottery, make a wooden terrace in front of the volunteer-tinyhouse, a Stoneway in front of the house would be nice :-D

    About work:
    We would be really thankful if you could help us 5 days a week-
    of course not more then 5 hours/pD
    ... the work is never to hard, but it seems that there is always something to do ;-)

    -We are really thankful People and try our best that you feel comfortable here and
    Jasmin is cooking (nearly) every day

    -If all that sounds nice for you then we would love to host you for a longer time also :-)
    minimum stay is two weeks.

    What else?
    We are eating mostly vegetarian, but not always (!) My daughter is strictly vegetarian, Jasmin is giving her best to live veg. but also making grilled or smoked chicken or fish ... but there is always enough veg. food,
    and of course in case you don´t like the meal- you can cook yourself or take as much food as you want from the fridge. :-D
    We love nature and it´s important to see our child to be connected to nature, with a feeling for respect for other beings and cultural exchange is very important to us, whether by our own travels or many of our friends from all around the world
    We love discussions at the fireplace, making music, playing drums ...

    ...so we sometimes work a lot but then we absolutely (!!!) appreciate having freetime and relax in our beautiful home and outdoor space with our chill-lounge with hammocks, Finn Sauna, have the forrest behind the house or the nature park next to a river 5 min away- which is perfect for runs, hicks or bycicle-trips... live in a lake area - perfect for Swimming or water skiing!!
    You have your own bicycle- shops, post office, cafe´s, bank are 4 km away- so 10 min on a safe bicycle way :-)
    :-)

    Note:
    We respect every being if human or not - this is our way of living! ! !
    ;-) -if we feel that we can't get along with each other-or that we or our way of living is not respected please notice that
    we keep us the right to say if this is not what we except- we are honest-nature and harmony loving people that always try our best to live together in harmony- so we expect that from our guests too- 🌼🌈🌻

    We are looking forward to meeting you :-)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    About us:
    Walter is a Mechanic and Jasmin has various jobs like: working for a farmer that sells old rarity vegetables.
    In the summer she gives creative courses at the farm in her own pottery workshop for young and old.

    Workshops she gives are all around nature like:
    -->building a Pizza oven out of clay also for baking bread,
    -->or building homes for bee´s and insekts,
    -->clay Workshops like building a Tajine (pot for cooking on fireplaces) and learn how to cook with it
    -->clay >realise your dreams<
    -->learn how to dye and spin wool
    --> ....
    ...In April we are preparing the gardens
    planting them in May
    June and July starts a bit of harvesting- like berrys and pear and we start to
    dry fruits or fill up jars with veggies or jams for the winter time
    ... collecting herbs for teas
    ...we harvest the apples.. making vinegar and applejuice...
    ...preparing for the Christmas markets, ....

    Jasmin is also working on the friday- -seasonal regional market
    helping an eco farmer selling his veggies,
    sometimes helps on the fields- during the season
    she is also self-employed and working as a Qi Gong teacher (like Tai Chi),
    making decorations at bavarian festivals- fairs- as a half time Job
    and giving seasonal workshops in working with clay in her own pottery-
    or teaches children about nature or farmlife -
    So of course if you stay long enough you can learn many things- but please think about that she is not the whole season doing everything of that ;-) would be to much hihi...even for her ;-D

    She always also needs help in simple pottery- things- but depending on your skills and interests... and
    please think about if you want to produce something for yourself- clay has to dry at least 2 weeks- then the first burning, painting-drying, burning, all in all most of the time 4 weeks- of course it´s possible but please think about it when you wanna learn something- take´s time ;-)

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for different help. Perfect would be if you are flexible and willing to help :-D
    We NEVER ask for work that is unpossible or dangerous, but there is everyday something else to do.

    • In general, we are looking for skilled volunteers for:
    - General maintenance: lawn mowing, clearing out spaces, repairing fences, move stuff, organise and tidy up
    - Various renovation and construction work in the house and outside, paint something
    - Gardening: weeding, cutting bushes, cutting brenches, planting, harvesting, helping produce juice,
    marmelade, drying fruits,
    - Landscape gardening: digging, make paths, stairs,
    - Help in household, cleaning, making beds, laundry, cooking etc.

    - if you want feeding animals,... can be helping with cleaning when I have a lot of other work ...

    --> so first we always find out what fits best :-)

    We are looking forward to work in cultural exchange, improving English and teaching English to our daughter.
    Let us know if you have any other skills that might be useful for us. We are always happy to host people who are creative. People who can think outside the box and can find creative solutions in non-standard situations are more than welcome!

    Please make sure you have international health and accident insurance.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accomodation for volunteers:
    You will live in our little wooden house, small, but cosy, next to the house,
    a wooden stove- inside, double bed, table, your own little terrace - to have your privacy in your free time :-)
    You will find a "tiny kitchen" in the tiny-house to heat up food, make yourself coffee or cook something for yourself if wanted.
    we will share bathroom and kitchen inside the farm house
    Normally I cook every day,
    if not you will always find something in the fridge or get a box of fresh food to help yourself.
    We are asking for help, so we want the people to have fresh and healthy stuff ;-) as as we eat

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It´s our 4thyear with Workawayers, there is a book now in the house filled with travel guides, Sightseeing Points, Train times, bustimes, 2 bicycles ... and we are open to help you as good as we can :-D

    We have the forrest in the back of the house, but we are only 3 minutes away from the busstop with
    connections to Linz 25 minutes or Germany only 55 km away


    We have a lake area with a sports park (for free) to reach in 10 min with bicycle,
    the forrest is right behind the house-
    a nature resort 5 min away with old celtic ritual places in a fantastic healing resort with hiking ways
    where you could walk and explore for many days... we are living on a small hill, but perfect for bicycling-
    a flat area down the hill, we have bicycles for workawayers-
    there is a small town with 2 shops, 2 bakerys, cafe´s , 2 restaurants and 2 bars you can reach in 7 min,
    a bus station 1 min away... the bus goes to Linz the capitol of upper Austria it´s famous for its museums (like Europe´s best museum of the future- or the castle museam, museum for nature...) and down town.
    It´s a city with 220 000 people, nice for shopping and visiting the old castles...
    there is a lot of history to explore if you like- and many fun and cultural experiences-

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)



























Host ref number: 233313321212