Creating beauty in a tranquil setting. Join us in Takou Bay, Northland, New Zealand



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Hi Workawayers, before reading the below please be aware that we are fully booked with backpackers/helpers until mid June 2024 and will not be hosting again until July 2024. That apart welcome to New Zealand's Far North - an ideal place to either stay and explore or to begin your complete New Zealand experience by systematically working south from here in a way that lets you see it all. Our property, a large multi-purpose farm, is situated close to many of the Far North's beautiful east coast beaches, Kauri forests, ninety-mile beach on the West Coast, less than a day's return visit to Cape Reinga, forty minutes-drive from Paihia, The Bay of Islands, or Manganui, and fifteen minutes-drive from Kerikeri. Tour buses to ninety-mile beach, West Coast sand hills, the Kauri Kingdom and Cape Reinga can be boarded from Waipapa and Paihia (we can drive you to and pick you up from the tour buses Waipapa pick up stop.) There are also many beautiful walks around Kerikeri itself, and of course the local waterfalls and Kauri forest - all of which we are pleased to show you and take you to. Paihia and the Bay of Islands too are less than a forty minute drive away.

    Help here is 20 hours a week for a minimum stay of two weeks. Our usual arrangement is four hours help each morning Monday through Friday with Saturday and Sunday completely off. However, we are flexible as to the hours worked each day and can usually work it so that Workawayers can have an extra day or two for sight seeing and travel when it is truly necessary. Workawayers are welcome to stay for longer than two weeks if it suits their purposes (some have stayed for over three months and one chap for six months). We accept stays only from solo males or solo females. We no longer host couples or groups. At present we have availability for Workawayers only from July 2024 and onward. in minimum stays of 14 days or longer. We do not require any particular skills or experience at all - we are happy to teach anything and everything. BUT - a willing spirit and an eagerness to learn new skills is essential. Help is very much hands on, often using hand held tools, sometimes involving lifting and carrying reasonably heavy loads, digging, gardening, concreting etc. For that reason we only consider Workawayers aged 35 years or younger. A reasonable ability to converse in English is also required.

    Workawayers will normally help with food preparation for an hour each morning and then help outside in the property's grounds, gardens and orchard for the next three hours. The tasks are varied and interesting. Depending on the season it could include fencing, spraying, making concrete, building, path construction, brick laying, paver laying, pruning, grafting, making preserves, bottling, weeding and gardening. In addition and separate to the foregoing, Host Bob is also looking for help from Workawayers with proven skills and /or qualifications in advanced computer animation, cartooning and video editing using CorelDraw Graphics Suite 2018, Da Vinci Resolve, Microsoft Video Editors and Win Movie Maker. Experience and expertise in using Doodly, Toonly, Talkia, PowerPoint, Paint 3D and would be an advantage.

    All food and accommodation is supplied in exchange for the 20 hours of help per week. We do not cater for specific gluten free, vegetarian, pescatarian, or vegan based diets - but do provide balanced, healthy, tasty meals with loads of home-grown fresh fruit and vegetables included.

    Our grounds and garden include a small orchard of many different kinds of fruit trees, large flower and vegetable gardens, full International sized petanque piste, heavy duty, free weights gymnasium, seven bay shed, concept 2 indoor rower, outdoor chess and other games and entertainments. Workawayers have full free time use of all such facilities with (if desired) free instruction and training from Host - a former three sport National Champion. Workawayers live in with host family.

    In addition to meals and accommodation, Workawayers have access to TV, DVD`s, library, washing machine, indoor and outdoor clotheslines and drying racks, free Wi-Fi and internet. So come on up to the winterless North, join the crew and have yourself a ball - we are looking forward to meeting you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Apart from the building, gardening, preserves and cooking - those who desire it will also have the opportunity to train in New Zealand's most unique and effective heavy duty gym, play petanque on a full size International piste and use our concept 2 indoor rowing machine. Bob is a three sport former National Champion, International record holder , gym manager and sports coach. He is always happy to share his knowledge and expertise with any Workawayer interested in fitness, weight training, indoor rowing, and/or sport in general.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    In general, experience here is not needed or required - just a willing spirit and an eagerness to learn. You will help with everything we do which is everything from gardening to fencing to building - including concrete making, bridge building, brick and paver laying, pruning, grafting, making jellies, jams, preserves, bottling fruit, planting, weeding, lawn-mowing, property maintenance. These are just some of the things that Workawayers will help with and learn how to do. Some of the work is physically easy and some of it is physically hard - so over-all it is best suited to those who are fit, healthy and thirty-five years of age or younger.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own room in the host family's main house. Wifi, TV, etc is unlimited and free. There is a large library. You will eat meals with the host family prepared by the host with a little help from you. Food is predominantly home grown, balanced and healthy, fresh and nutritious. We do not supply specific vegetarian, vegan, gluten free or pescatarian meals. Meat and three veg is the norm with dairy products where and when appropriate. Home grown fruit is also available year round.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The male host, Bob, trains at petanque everyday and trains others in the gym three times a week. Workawayers are welcome to join in these activities of course. There is also outdoor chess and a multitude of board and card games available. There are many sights to explore in the surrounding district including waterfalls, kauri forests, Cape Reinga, beautiful beaches, produce and Farmer's markets, etc etc. We can drive you to the immediate local sights and to tour bus pick-up points for those places a little further away. If you have your own transport then everything in the far North is easily accessible. You could do all the east coast beaches, see Cape Reinga and get back to us in a single day.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a large property and parking of any size campervan is no problem at all.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    20 hours a week - usually four hours each week day morning - but flexible

Host ref number: 166889855557

Feedback (2)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.0)

Cultural exchange: (3.0)

Communication: (4.5)

Help with projects and general help in Northland, New Zealand
Help at our homely hostel in central Nelson, New Zealand