The help i am looking for is mainly with the orchard, Navarre, Basque Country- Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 40 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/10/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    504

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    (Update: i haven't been very active during 2018 due to work abroad but 2019-2020 is starting a lot better and i have started the orchard)

    I live in a big house in a very quite village in the mountains in Navarre, i am a carpenter and sometimes work from home or away and sometimes i don´t work. My dream would be to live off the land, but so far I just have a little orchard and some land with grass and apple trees, i plant vegetables and i am rebuilding a small wall that has collapsed, there is some fencing and some soil turning to be done, the apple trees need pruning in march and hopefully i will be picking up apples in September or October, experience with apples and planting vegetables will be very welcomed, i would like to make make beer too, someone who can help me start the first batch of Ale would be amazing. I would like to host people who are knowledgeable and can give me a hand with these things, but maybe you have some other ideas about what to do, i have been living here just a couple of years after travelling a lot and the place has a lot of potential, overall i would like to host people with good energy who is happy to share it, regardless of your farming skills. I am very happy to meet people from other countries in Europe and from everywhere really, this is a quiet environment to rest, write, paint, read...good company is always welcomed and i am very flexible about the arrangement with working and spending time here.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    this is a beautiful area, you will enjoy the rural local life and the nature around walk distance, you can borrow my bike and go a bit further too,
    enjoy the culture and landscapes around here

  • Help

    Help

    Vegetable growing, beer making, fencing, wall restoring, cooking, pruning..

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Basque: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    room provided
    food will be provided, i am not the best cook, but we can get the best ingredients, if you don't mind giving a hand in the kitchen i am always open to learn new things, otherwise you will have to suffer my cooking (joke) expect plenty of good healthy food after your work, i might not be able to be home for lunch everyday though

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    there is loads of good walks around and Pamplona is 30 kms away, Sansebastian 60 and Biarritz 80, which is the nearest airport

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Update on the orchard, soil starting to get ready, , weather is been warm but too early to plant anything yet i reckon
Host ref number: 974227357511