Volunteer in a finca in Bolonia, near Tarifa and Gibraltar, Spain




Favourited 325 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Join now to contact this host
  • Description


    Namaste everyone - thank you for reading us! First of all, please DO understand:
    If you are looking for comfortable private rooms and food served ready on the table, PLEASE move on, plenty of projects offer just that!

    Ours is a rough place of great natural beauty. Our commitment is to offer you with all beings who live here the opportunity to simply be your Self. Rather than imposing established rhythms, schedules or chores onto you, you will be invited to find out WHO YOU REALLY WANT TO BE, and from there, what you want to do at and for this place. Rather than being "looked after", the finca invites us to tackle our most basic fears - all fear comes from need - teaching us to "do without", a challenge that can be fulfilling and liberating at the same time.
    On the finca we get the chance to take full responsibility for our stay, in fact, take back the responsibility for our own lives, thus getting deeply involved in changing the world, BEING THE CHANGE, starting from the inside, our own innermost Self.
    Starting to learn skills that we need for living in nature as sustainable, unique, individual beings infinitely different from each other, yet forming a sustainable community of all living creatures on earth.
    Stepping out from a system that destroys itself and the future of our children and grandchildren. That keeps people passive and hypnotized in their comfortable entertained lives, afraid of being responsible, self reliant, spontaneous, expressive, alive.
    Stepping out in this way can be seen as a silent and peaceful revolution.

    Also, please be totally true and straightforward when you apply. Be aware that in this simple, natural place all tricks and strategies you might use to survive "out there" will eventually collaps, while openly communicated "weaknesses" or doubts might well fit in with who we are... In other words: Don't strive to appear "perfect" - just express your Self with sincerity.

    The farm has 6.5ha, half forest of wild olive and mastix trees, half pasture for our horses, ponies and the llama. There are the ruins of the old cottages of natural stones, a vegetable garden that has't been worked for fifty years - around 5000 sqm, and a terrace of a few fruit trees (fig, orange and pomme granate).

    The farm lies between the virgin beach of Bolonia and the surfer's 'capital' Tarifa.

    The main purpose of the farm and house is to home the animals who roam in it freely, most of them being rescues. apart from the pasture animals there are cats, dogs and tortoises.

    La granja es de 6.5 hectáreas, mitad pasto (ponis, caballos y llamas), mitad bosque de acebuche y lentisco. Hay una cuadra antigua, ruinas del anterior cortijo de piedras naturales, una huerta no labrada hace 50 años de unos 5000m2, un bancal de unos pocos arboles frutales.(higuera,membrillo,naranja,granada).
    Está a 8km de la playa virgen de bolonia y a 16km del pueblo de surf, Tarifa.

    El propósito principal de la finca es dar hogar a los animales que circulan libremente en ella, la mayoría de ellos siendo de rescate. Aparte de los animales de pasto que son caballos, ponis y llamas, hay gatos, perros y tortugas.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The cattle breeders and farmers in the neighbourhood still work in traditional ways. The finca is totally integrated in local life. Local religious and rural customs are part of our life. History and presence can be experienced in interesting excursions.

  • Help


    We ask 14 volunteer hours/week, with up to 5 free days per week. The volunteers pay for their own food and do their own cooking. This gives us time to study, read, write, excursions, art activities, meditation, or just to hang out at the beaches...;-) Please only apply if you have the intention to stay at least one month. Of course you are always free to leave if you feel this is not "your place", just as you might be asked to leave if it turns out you don't really fit in with what the finca is about - respect, sincerity, open communication... ;-)

    We need to maintain the access dirt road to make it passable for cars,help with building work finishing the house,make firewood, repair `dry´ stonewalls etc.

    At the moment we are looking for people with experience in construction, carpentry, bricklaying, roofing, dry stone walling, machine usage etc.

    In exchange for professional help we offer horse communication classes, language classes (spanish,english,german), classes in taiji quan (thirty years of experience) and tours to the magnificent beaches and landscapes of the area.

    Pedimos 14h/semana de trabajo, con hasta 5 días libres. L@s voluntari@s pagan su propia comida y cocinan para ell@s mism@s. Esto nos da tiempo para dar clases, hacer excursiones, meditar, hacer arte, o simplemente relajarnos en la playa...
    Por favor trae como mínimo de tiempo un mes. Desde luego estás siempre libre de marcharte si no te encuentras a gusto y vice versa. Pero por favor sólo solicites si tienes por lo menos un mes de tiempo a tu disposición.

    Hace falta mantener el camino de acceso para uso de coches, ayudar en trabajos restantes de obra de la casa, hacer leña, reconstruir muros de piedra natural `en seco´ etc.

    En este momento buscamos gente con alguna experiencia de construccion, carpinteria, albanileria, máquinas etc.

    En cambio a ayuda profesional ofrecemos clases de doma libre de caballo, clases de castellano y/o inglés y/o alemán, clases de taiji quan (30 años de experiencia) y visitas a las magníficas playas y paisajes del litoral del estrecho de Gibraltar.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    español, inglés, alemán, francés, mandarín

  • Accommodation


    The accommodation for the volunteers is in a wooden cabin, dormitory style, with basic electricity, no plumbing. there is an outdoor compost toilet and a gas cooker where the volunteers prepare their own food that they can buy cheaply at the local markets & supermarkets.

    For this rough life style it is necessary for you to bring your own sleeping bag,towel,a flashlight and your own toiletries such as soap,shampoo,sun screen, insect repellent etc.

    Only bring as much luggage as you can carry yourself over a 2km dirt road.

    For rainy,muddy weather you'll need a pair of wellingtons as well as water proof clothes. in general, the more independent and self sufficient you are, the better.

    Los voluntarios comparten una cabaña de madera estilo dormitorio, con electricidad básica, sin agua corriente. Hay una estufa de leña para calentar agua, y un water ecológico al exterior. Hay una estufa de butano de dos fuegos donde los voluntarios preparan su propia comida que pueden comprar en los mercados y supermercados y las granjas alrededor.

    Para vivir allí hace falta que traigas tu saco de dormir, una linterna, y tus propias cosas de aseo, toalla, champú, jabón, protección solar, repelente de insectos etc.

    Solo trae la cantidad de equipaje que puedes llevar 2km en un camino de tierra.

    En general, cuanto más independiente y autosuficiente estes, mejor. En tiempos de lluvia y barro hace falta un par de botes de agua como ropa de agua.

    La finca tiene excelente cobertura con vodafon, los que traen smartphone o su propio pc pueden conectarse a internet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Please inform us WITHOUT FAIL about any special dietary needs, injuries or other special health conditions such as allergies etc, so that we can see whether they are compatible with the rough life on the finca or not. please be aware it doesn't serve anybody if you make your way out here just to realize that finca life isn't compatible with your needs.

    Please also be aware that the finca is 16km away from the next health centre and that we are not prepared to attend you if you are sick and in need of medical care. you alone will be responsible for your own health, and in case of falling ill you will be attended in a hospital. therefore a proper health insurance is a MUST.

    The finca has excellent voldafon reception, so if you bring your smartphone or your own pc you can connect yourself to the internet. there is no wifi.

    The finca also offers the opportunity to pioneers to stay long-term to lifelong and create their independent projects, such as art projects (plenty of space for open air workshops, studios etc), small businesses (for example activities with children, a small ecological backpacker campsite etc)or just for retirement and recreation (if you're income independent.)

    You are welcome to prepare the vegetable garden for cultivation of your own bio vegetables.

    Por favor informanos SIN FALTA de cualquier necesidad especial de dieta o condiciones de salúd, como alérgias, heridas de deporte etc, para que las podamos tener en cuenta e informarte si son compatibles con el estilo de vida en la finca o no. Ten en cuenta que no sirve a nadie si haces el viaje en vano sólo para ver que tu condición no te permite estar en la finca como voluntario.

    También ten en cuenta que la finca está a 16km del próximo centro de salud, y que no está preparada para atender a personas enfermas con necesidad de cuidados médicos. Serás tú el/la responsable de tu propia salud, y en caso de enfermedad se te atenderá profesionalmente y a tu cuenta en un hospital, por lo cual es imprescindible un seguro en condiciones.

    La finca también ofrece la oportunidad a pioneros de estancias largas hasta a por vida, creando sus proyectos independientes, tal como proyectos de arte (hay mucho espacio para talleres al aire libre, un estudio etc), pequeños negocios (como crear un campismo rural ecológico, proporcionar vacaciones de aventura para niños etc.) o simplemente estar aquí de retiro y recreación (si estás independiente económicamente.)

    Estás bienvenid@ a preparar la huerta y habilitarla para cultivar tu propia comida ecológica.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected


Host ref number: 729918954133