Help create an open-hearted non-profit community in Arona, Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 1309 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    31  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/04/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hola Workawayers! :)

    So basically I am looking for like-minded people to come and stay in a beautiful finca, located half way up the volcano of Tenerife, to turn this in to an eco-friendly, welcoming, non-profit community space in the future!
    This house originally belongs to my family, but I have come back to live and work here, after many years of travelling, to create a little paradise in paradise. This is where I need your help!

    The finca has two floors, 4 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, an apartment and tooooo much outdoor space for us to maintain by ourselves! Over the years, many things have been damaged or need repairing. There are several projects, in the house and on the land (garden, vegetable patch, future yoga spaces, fruit trees, pond, playground, etc.), where your creativity has no limits.
    The house is far away from tourism and any hustle of the island, its completely relaxed, quiet and located with stunning views.

    About myself - I grew up here and have a deep love towards this island and this piece of land. My family is German, but I speak German, English and Spanish if you need a partner to practice! :) I have travelled to many places and therefore love meeting new people, getting to know new cultures and sharing my happiness. My hobbies are yoga (recently teaching myself! :), cooking and eating!, horse riding, languages and watersports. I'm also a very excited Mum of 2 dogs that I adopted 3 years ago (Chance, 8 years old & Panda, 3 years old). So it´s key that you love animals!

    We would like to create more of a community vibe in the Finca, co-living and co-working together as a family - where each person has their own responsibilities and works on these independently. If you are skilled in the following tasks and you want to join a project in the nature of Tenerife for longer - please let us know!

    Come and join us!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Tenerife is known for its mass tourism and beach life. If you would like to escape that though, and come to enjoy Europe's best climate in a very tranquil environment, then this is the right place. Its a good place to learn Spanish (we both also speak fluently), we have a good WiFi connection if you work remotely, and the house and garden are perfect spots for yoga practices.
    I give yoga lessons officially twice per week and am open to teaching you more if you like! :)

  • Help

    Help

    -
    Gardening, farming and permaculture?
    Please let us know, because we need a garden magician!
    If you already have experience with permaculture cycles or you are willing to learn - let us know! :D
    -
    Decorating, cooking and turning the indoor spaces into beautiful corners for relaxing? Cleaning, cooking (preferably vegan) DIY decorations, etc
    -
    Animal care, dog sitting, dog training, maybe even prepare a space for chickens and a horse? :)

    Looking for skilled, motivated and easy-going support for people who are looking into staying longer term and creating a community vibe with us.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would stay in the top floor in one of the bedrooms. You share a bathroom with maximum one other person, and we all share the kitchen, living room and terrace together. Washing machine, fitness room and car park are also available.
    I keep a full fridge - so you can help yourself with what you can find from there. We will be cooking together and try to stick to a veggie, but preferably vegan diet. :)

    - We try our best to live healthy and consciously, so we would prefer to keep it to a non-smoking and non-meat household - :) Thanks!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a lot to see and do here on the island in your time off - but it is recommendable to have a car (especially as it is almost impossible to get to the house without one). I drive down to the Los Cristianos area once a day approximately, and would be happy to take anyone, but you might be more flexible with a rented car, and they are not so expensive here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)























Host ref number: 418568659313