Help us to build a pallet shed and experience living off grid in Burren, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 11 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/02/2022

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of three living 8 km outside the small town of Lisdoonvarna in The Burren Area of North County Clare. I am Cearbhúil, and my son Ruben 12 and daughter India 10 are both homeschooled.

    We have a 3 and a half acre piece of land. We recently moved there and live off grid. We grow vegetables and are currently mostly working on building projects - A kitchen and a pallet shed for drying wood and to home our bicycle powered washing machine and outdoor shower. We are also making paths, planting trees, finishing off a chicken shed, compost toilet. cobbing the inside of our cabin, willow weaving -many many things! too many to describe here!

    On top of the hill we have beautiful views of The Aran Islands and Cliffs of Moher. We live in a forest, a very tranquil, quiet area. We often light a fire outside and watch the stars!

    This is a place for early risers and early to bed people!!! As we homeschool, life is busy so I am looking for independent people capable of interacting with children and working alone if needed.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I speak the Irish language and play tin whistle. We sometimes have music events at our place. We also have a good connection with local community and visit friends and neighbours regularly. We live an hour and a half walk from the sea and the local area is rich in music, arts and culture.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    I need an independent person(or couple) to come and build a pallet shed for storing wood and our (in the process of making), bicycle powered washing machine and outdoor shower. This project requires a creative and skilled person/persons.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Irish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I speak Irish, English and Spanish fluently. I am open to teaching , sharing my abilities.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Caravan with wood burning stove. simple and warm. We will share lunch and evening meals. We take turns cooking. my children also cook from time to time!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live very simply. We eat meat and like to forage seaweed locally. We are currently building a kitchen so we cook outside (under roof). Bikes available.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 972797644488