Homeschooling, teaching, outdoors, arts, and crafts near Clonakilty, Ireland




Favourited 552 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  • Description


    My name is Grit and my 8 year old son is Malvin. We live in the "sunny" South of Ireland near a little town called Clonakilty. This town is rated by some as "the best town in Ireland". We are lucky to be here. There is a good alternative vibe here.
    I am originally German but living in Ireland for over 16 years. My child goes to school here but we are considering homeschooling. We rent half a house in the countryside surrounded by hills and often cows. I have a small vegetable plot to grow some herbs and vegetables, and we have 2 cats living with us.
    I am interested in alternative ways of living, organic growing, permaculture, and many other things.
    I had studied ethnomusicology and my main interest was music censorship. I also had played Irish harp but this is very much neglected over the last years. Nevertheless, I hope to get back playing music again.
    For the last 3 years, I am studying Shiatsu and have also done an Ayurvedic Yoga Massage course. I practise both of them.
    Furthermore, we try to live healthy and avoid fast food. I sometimes get unwanted food from shops that is running out of date and we cook from that.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have hosted many volunteers and these were all very nice experiences. I also have supervised, worked and lived with volunteers over the past years when we were renting a house on a big farm. So far, we really enjoyed each other's company for example by learning cultural habits, cooking and watching a film together. Several times, I have taken volunteers sight seeing. I still would like to show volunteers around our area if they like. For example, there are a couple of nice beaches close by.

  • Help


    As a lone parent, I am mainly seeking a volunteer to help me minding, interacting, and teaching my 8 year old child. Recently, we started homeschooling and we look for a suitable volunteer to help with that. We are considering a much more alternative way of learning than curriculumn school learning. Homeschooling is much more interest orientated and interests are always changing. At the moment, major interests are drawing, learning to swim, leog, fishing, simple wood work crafts, and science experiments. But also, help with learning reading, writing and maths is needed. If you are interested and can help us with anything or something you would like to share, please get in touch.

    Also, until early summer 2020, I am attending a shiatsu training. The trainings are one or two weekends a month. At the training weekends, I will need someone that can be here in the house with Malvin and mind him during the day. The volunteer would have off other days instead. Days and times can all be agreed beforehand if needed as I have a timetable for my course.

    I rarely go out or socialise but I may like to do that if I have a volunteer. Then it would be great of the volunteer could mind Malvin. I am interested in yoga, martial arts, and juggling, many other things but have not much experience with some myself.

    Teaching, playing, making things, music, learning, amongst other things, are things that we would like to share and need help with. We like board games, card games, lego, being outdoors, ...
    The ideal volunteer would have experience with children and definitely should like kids. It would be great if he or she can also help preparing meals, cooking, and with general housework.
    There is no strict routine timewise. So far my volunteers often had much more freetime than with other hosts. Please notice that I may need sometimes help at weekends (when I have may shiatsu training) and an occasional evening. In that case, the volunteer will have more time off during the week. Schedules are fairly relaxed and we can find times that suit everyone.

    I am interested in taking volunteers for a couple of days or for a few weeks. Just get in touch and we see ...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    We speak German and English

  • Accommodation


    We are renting a small half of a house in the countryside. The other half is occupied by 2 other people living there. Our landlords live opposite us in another house.
    There is a comfortable double bed in a private bedroom. Bathroom will be shared with us. Living room and kitchen is really one room and shared with us. We mainly prefer to have just one volunteer at the time and not two.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live very rural but do go to places regularly or visit friends. The volunteer can join us mostly. There is a bicycle to use here. Clonakilty is popular for being an alternative little town. There are some beaches and surfing is possible.
    Cork city is about 1 hour away by bus. Also some other small towns are around like Kinsale (1 hour by bus, or Skibbereen).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Mainly childcare (maximum 25, 5 days a week)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 657373549815

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more