Help out on a vegan farm in Åmmeberg, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 225 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    475

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    On my small farm I grow all kinds of vegetables and sell them at local markets and at my farm shop. I’ve run the farm for 13 years so it´s a quite established operation. However - I am looking to expand the farm into new exciting directions:

    1) No-dig market garden. Tilling the soil as is done almost everywhere creates lots of problems - weed spread, soil life is disrupted and valuable soil carbon is rapidly lost. I am moving into a no-dig garden approach.

    2) Tiny village/farm community. Traditional farming was always a collective effort done by a tight community. With modern farming much of that had been lost. I want to create a foundation for a new form of rural community. Come here, stay in one of my houses or build your own!

    3) Vegan permaculture. In the meat industry billions of sweet animals are killed every year. It is ethically wrong and also not ecologically sustainable. Here, I am trying to create a truly self-sustaining farm system without slaughtering animals. Plans for the future include a large scale compost operation, fruit and berry orchards, CBD-oil production, and maybe an animal sanctuary?

    4) And more - large scale bean production, food festival, own brand of fermented veggies, courses, even larger flower garden, etc etc.

    So I am looking for you that want to be a part of making all this become real. Maybe you want to stay one month, the whole beautiful summer or longer?

    Previous farming experience is preferred but not necessary.

    A bit about myself - I’m Gustaf Söderfeldt and turning 40 this year. I’ve run the farm with my partner for 13 years, but have now separated. I love farming and really want to make this into an amazing place!

    The farm is 25 hectars of mostly woodland and grass. We grow veggies on about 1 hectar.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    See rural Sweden and its beautiful, calm nature. Learn vegetable farming and marketing, as well as other farming skills. Help build a true farm for the future!

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening, chopping wood, building, general farm help, painting. Most of all I want people who can contribute into making this into an amazing place!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Swedish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You have your own room. Shared kitchen. Nice bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lots of hiking opportunities. Swimming in the summer. Borrowing a row boat. Relaxing. The farm is in a small village with a shop. Buses leave to a larger town a few times a day.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Minimum 35 hours/week


Host ref number: 971699149598