Help with a new permaculture garden in Sävar, Northern Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 242 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/09/2019

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi,

    My name is Susanne and I have a permaculture garden in Northern Sweden. For a few years I ran a business based on my house and garden (B&B, flee-market, vegetable, fruit and berry growing and education), but I have since moved on to other employment. I still garden extensively but only for self sufficiency and I give courses and talks on growing your own food, soil, composting and similar topics.

    We are a family of approximately five humans and two dogs. Our oldest child has moved away to study and only comes back during holidays, my partner works away during the week and my children's partners come and go as do parents and friends. We have lived abroad and we have had people living with us for longer and shorter periods. We enjoy getting to know and connecting with new people from all over the world. We welcome people of all ages, backgrounds and cultures.

    My garden is an ongoing project and there are always new areas being developed and new ideas being carried out. Anyone who wants to come here will have great opportunities to learn about permaculture design and implementation in the early stages. We are looking forward to learning from you and the experiences you bring with you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project

  • Help

    Help

    Volunteer work here will be varied and based around the creation of the garden (mulching, planting, sowing, digging, etc), maintaining and developing different structures such as barns, greenhouse and poly tunnel. Early in the season work will mainly be propagation and some building/carpentry. Depending on your skills and interests it is possible to shape your contribution around those.

    We expect a volunteer to share some house work like cooking, washing up and tidying.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Swedish and English (a bit of french)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a large house with plenty of room for relaxing and interacting. We can accommodate from one person up to a group or family of three. You will have your own room and live as part of the family with free access to wifi, TV, etc. We provide bedlinen and towels. If you have a camper van or a tent you rather stay in, that is also possible.

    We can accommodate most diets. We eat mostly vegan/vegetarian food and we aim to source most of our food from the garden or locally.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Sävar is a thriving community of around 3500 people with basic services such as health care, school, grocery, pharmacy, bank, flower shop, restaurant but also lots of community activities and events. Sävar is well connected by public transport and a bike lane to Umeå, the largest city in Northern Sweden which offers cultural activities, sport events, shopping and much more. Sävar is situated on the main road between the North and the South which means easy connection by car and coach to other towns and cities in the North. The area around Sävar is mainly forested, well suited for walking, fishing and berry and mushroom picking depending on the time of year. In the winter there are tracks for cross country skiing. There are always things happening in the local community, like cultural or sport events.

    With a valid drivers licence it may be possible to borrow one of our cars to go a bit further away, visit the mountains or other parts of the county. We also have bicycles that can be used to visit the sea or Holmön, an Island just off the coast with a music festival and other cultural events taking place in the summer.

    Umeå has, as said before, a lot of activities on offer. Umeå is well known for its alternative music scene and DIY-culture. It is easy to go to Skellefteå, Piteå or Luleå on a coach from Sävar. From Umeå you can go by train, plane or coach to many destinations in Sweden.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Sävar river
The inside of my greenhouse at the beginning of June
A view of the house from the west.
A view of the house from the front at the end of May.
Room for one or two people
Runo, the flat coated retriever looking out the kitchen window.
Morran, the dachshund
Seating area overlooking kitchen garden.
Herb garden, southern sun trap





Host ref number: 481824441585