Living the dream - come and share the fun, in Lower Hunter Valley

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 268 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are looking for someone to come and Babysitting our 2-year-old little boy.

    As well as looking for helping us with our new farm business "Baby farm animal petting zoo" duties would include playing with all our baby animals every day, feeding and cleaning out their pens, helping get ready for party's and unpacking the van at the end of the day, if this sounds like fun to your ears please get in touch with us
    till we find the right person we are still very happy to take people short term to experience natural clean living and baby animal cuddling.

    We are a young vibrant couple building our dream in a rural area on a 30-acre farm, two hours North West of Sydney. We are in the beautiful Lower Hunter Valley just one hour from the coast. We ask that everyone who wants to visit to be able to stay for at least two weeks to get more out of your stay with us, and if we are both happy longer stays are possible.
    Most of our farm is untouched bush-land with lots to be explored and do. Wollombi is the closest town just 7 km down the road, it is a small village but busy on the weekends. It is a good day trip or weekend away destination for most Sydneysider's. The Hunter Valley is known as a wine region so if you’re into wine there is a lot to check out... but we don’t drink any alcohol and want to keep our farm a smoke, drug, and alcohol-free zone.

    On the farm, we have 20 chickens and Duck of all sizes, 5 sheep 2 lambs, 2 small ponies, 2 goats 2 Kid Goats, 3 pig 2piglets, 2 Rabbits, a dog and 1 cat called Kitten, we also have a happening veg garden and a young Food Forest. We are getting ready to build our home out of recycled materials; everything on our farm has its place and use. We believe water is life, without water all life will cease so please be mindful with our water use.
    Our aim is to run weekend and day classes and workshops teaching cooking classes, hosting workshops and retreats. We practice permaculture, nature awareness, small-scale farming, living sustainably, spiritual healing, healing through food on a daily bases

    Kylie is a chef and loves to make teas and meals for medicinal purposes, and just set up our new business with baby animals. Kylie has volunteered and traveled around the world, so we know how to make a good fun day on the farm, and you will never be hungry - we know food is payment and we are just so grateful for the help.

    Aarons is a very busy Landscape Designer, Horticulturalist and Structural Contractor who often needs help on the job; so the possibility of paid work is there for the right persons, Aaron uses this knowledge on the farm especially when it comes to building and plants, and is very happy to share knowledge and skills with those that are interested.

    We have a large range of work for people with various skills and abilities ranging from work on the land to work around the home. Please advise us of your interests, abilities and/or skills if any.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Just a short walk up the track is a sacred aboriginal site of great significance in Australia. Also we share the Wollombi Valley with Mt Yengo - both well worth checking out for some Australia cultural experience.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people to help us with the day to day running of our small farm feeding the animals, collecting eggs, working in the garden and harvesting . There is also seasonal work like chopping wood, food preparation, fruit preserving, general cooking, and computer work - marketing and updating websites - for those skilled in this area.
    There are also lots of different types of building techniques to learn - as we eventually want a few different buildings on the farm. These may include domes, earth bag building, underground buildings, artificial rocks and stone villa. So there is something for everyone.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a nice studio for our helper to stay in big enough for a couple, two friends or a single person while staying on the farm that is self contained and a nice space to chill out in.

    we also have a outside shared bathroom, and are very big on conserving about every drop of water. so their is a small solar heated bag shower that work very well, We also have a composting worm farm toilet, and therefore only wish to use natural products and definitely no chemicals on the land.
    We can pick up from local town or train/bus station.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can cater to different diet requirements, and we like to share big lunch together -meat eaters and vegetarians are all welcome. if you have very particular food requirements please discuss ahead of arrival. We have very slow internet and limited access, and no mobile phone service but we have a land line for emergency.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Hours We would like 5 hours a day for food and a place to sleep for 5 or 6 days a week depending what work we have on and what you want to do but we are very flexible












Host ref number: 971563372182