Experience three U.S. States with this flexible homestay in Arizona, USA

Country

United States

updated   Last minute

Favourited 821 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    64  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/10/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    206

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    (I am fully COVID-vaccinated. If you are not yet vaccinated, then you can get free one-dose vaccine here in Arizona -- even foreigners!)

    WELCOME TO ARIZONA!

    This is a basic homestay opportunity for young travelers in my Western Arizona residence. Bullhead City is a water-recreation destination on the Colorado River. Laughlin, Nevada, is across the river; California is 18 miles downstream.

    My current need (besides German speakers, who are always welcome) is for backyard landscape maintenance: spreading bagged decorative rock and mulch, resetting path borders and laying new borders, digging out rocks to level the raw ground, mounting tiki torches, etc. No special skills required -- just average physical strength and dexterity. And be sure to review the comprehensive list of other possible tasks further down in my profile.

    ABOUT ME

    I'm a managing attorney for a major consumer-based technology/finance company. I have always worked from home (even pre-COVID) and have a relatively flexible schedule that enables me to have ample time to spend with my guests.

    Before relocating to Arizona twelve years ago, I lived in Manhattan and worked as an attorney for one of Europe's largest investment banks. I also taught economics, finance and business ethics at a local college.

    I have a B.S. in Business & Economics, an M.A. in Economics, and a J.D., which I earned at age 36.

    I live alone with my dog in my brand-new home.

    Although it might not be obvious from my background, location and trappings, I have renounced the suburban, middle-class American lifestyle in which I was raised. I work only half the year, by choice, and live a modest, minimalist (yet comfortable) life in which my primary leisure activity is escaping into nature. This can mean scenic drives, hiking, kayaking or other serene, slow-paced outdoor activities. If you've read Thoreau or Emerson, then you'll have an idea of how I live.

    I have been an active host using similar websites for many years. I always enjoy having interesting people from around the world staying with me, whether for culture and language exchange or to take on various projects.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Besides structured assistance with your English if you like, I can offer the following:

    --Guests who stay at least one week get a day-trip to the Grand Canyon and one morning kayaking on Lake Mohave (part of Lake Mead National Recreation Area). Many other destinations, either as day trips or overnight camping, are possible with the campervan (I have a six-person tent for guests while I sleep in the minivan with the dog).

    --An in-depth introduction to U.S. law, courts, legislative processes and jurisprudence for those interested in comparative legal systems. My particular areas of interest are constitutional issues, individual rights, and tort law.

    --I taught college-level economics and finance, and was an investment banker for many years. I would be happy to share my knowledge and expertise in these fields (e.g., how U.S. financial markets work, how securities are valued, and how macroeconomic policies are implemented).

    --I'm a recreational (i.e., not very good) oboist with a good library of duet and accompanist pieces. Bring your guitar or use my electronic keyboard.

    --I follow European soccer, especially Bundesliga. My team is Borussia Dortmund. My favorite player is Julian Brandt.

  • Help

    Help

    I am very flexible about the ways my guests can contribute to my home. If you have a special skill, then bring it!

    Some more specific ways to help:

    --All guests are asked to walk the dog at least once a day.

    --German speakers can help me practice.

    --Guest hoping to improve their English can let me practice my TEFL skills on them.

    --Artists can produce something for the house (I will cover the cost of all materials).

    --Astronomy enthusiasts can share their knowledge (my area is elevated and has very little light pollution).

    --Musicians can jam with me (I play the oboe and have a very good electronic keyboard).

    --Have a favorite board game? Teach it to me!

    --I have some A/V projects that involve my pre-digital travel photos and videos.

    --If we roadtrip, then you can help with the driving, campsite set-up, etc.

    --I am working on beautifying my backyard and would love to set up a flower garden and possibly an herb garden.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Spare bedroom in private home. There is a full-size bed (and a folding bed for a second guest), and a desk suitable for laptop use (a great set-up for online learners and digital entrepreneurs).

    You have full access to the kitchen as well as the living room, laundry room and backyard. The large-screen TV has a Roku with Hulu, Amazon Prime, Disney+, ESPN+, and many basic cable channels. I also have an Xbox 360 with a modest selection of shooter games.

    There is free top-tier wi-fi throughout the house.

    The community pool and hot tub are available year-round.

    For bicyclists, I have a men's hybrid touring bike in very good condition that you can borrow.

    Parking is not a problem, if you happen to have a car.

    Bullhead City is easily accessible by bus, or you can make your way to Kingman AZ or Needles CA by bus or train and I will gladly pick you up. Picking you up from the Las Vegas airport is possible but requires some advance planning.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    THREE STATES FULL OF THINGS TO DO

    Millions of people make their way to our desert community annually to enjoy the Colorado River, Lake Mohave and the warm seasonal temperatures. Across the river, Laughlin, Nevada, provides year-round gaming entertainment. Together, the two cities host millions of visitors for special events, sports tournaments and outdoor recreational opportunities.

    River recreation options include swimming, boating, canoeing, kayaking, stand-up paddleboarding, jet-ski rentals and fishing, all at Big Bend of the Colorado. On the other side of Davis Dam is Lake Mohave (my preferred kayaking destination).

    Just one hour away, Hualapai Mountain Park offers 10 miles of trails for hikers and mountain bikers to enjoy. Situated atop the Hualapai Mountains, the trails provide spectacular views of the desert below and the mountain ranges in the distance. On the trail, users will experience a variety of mountain habitats and have the opportunity to see many species of wildlife. We can day-trip or camp overnight.

    Lake Havasu City is 60 miles away and offers more water recreation options as well as the original London Bridge. There are campsites and cabins if we choose to spend the night.

    All guests get a day trip to the Grand Canyon (or we can camp and stay longer). We'll travel very briefly on America's historic "Route 66." Petrified Forest National Park is also within reach.

    In Nevada, Hoover Dam and the Pat Tillman Bridge are 90 minutes away, and the Las Vegas Strip is only 45 minutes further. If you’re over 21 and would like to learn how to play casino games like blackjack or craps, I am happy to teach you.

    If casinos are not for you, then we can visit Valley of Fire State Park and the Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area.

    In California, Death Valley and Joshua Tree National Parks are both open and readily accessible. Numerous camping and hiking options abound throughout the Inland Empire region, including Dead Mountains Wilderness Refuge, Lake Arrowhead and seven California state parks. The vast Mohave National Preserve offers hiking, camping, scenic drives and wildlife spotting.

    (Want to add a fourth state? Let's go to Zion and Bryce National Parks in Utah.)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    As someone who already worked remotely pre-COVID, my home has always been well-configured for telecommuters and remote learners. I have excellent high-speed Internet and wifi, a land-line telephone, and a spare desktop computer. You will also have all the privacy you need in the guest room. If you are studying online, I will totally accommodate your coursework's schedule and time requirements.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I can easily accommodate a car, minivan or campervan. A larger vehicle such as an RV might pose some challenges, but we can figure it out.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    1-2 hour per day , 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)



































Host ref number: 967695273928