Join me at my riverside hobby farm at a stunning location in Tasmania

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 11 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Explore the Tasmanian Cradle Coast from my riverside hobby farm. The North-West Coast is a beautiful area and makes a great base to visit Cradle Mountain. My property is surrounded by a river full of trout (trout season starts in October and runs to May) with resident platypus, sea eagles, wallabies, and other wildlife. I have cows, goats, chickens, and an energetic border collie. Easy walk (2km) to the beach, ten minute drive to either Wynyard or Burnie.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Tasmania is a really stunning place full of natural beauty. I am a very keen cook and sort of permaculture-adjacent. I am part of local permaculture groups and can take you to meetings (when they start back up again!).

    I am interested in elements of self sufficiency and like to grow and cook my own food. If you like fishing the river is teaming with trout.

    I am very open to spending time making or trying out exciting cookery projects, and have a lot of experience and equipment (e.g. Traeger pellet smoker, Weber grill, Breville ControlFreak, fully stocked with baking equipment) if you want to learn a new skill. If I don't know how to do it, I would love to learn together, e.g. take a mushroom growing workshop or learn how to make cider. Recently with an Italian backpacker we made limoncello, Neapolitan-style pizza, empanadas, gyoza, jam, fresh trout from the river cooked over a campfire, tiramisu, black forest brownies, and lemon meringue tarts.

  • Help

    Help

    The help required changes with the seasons--my place has extensive ornamental gardens and fruit trees, but also I am working on reclaiming the river bank from invasive weeds as an eco project. I want to establish a productive raised bed vegetable garden too. So the day to day could be weed management, pruning, mulching, watering, planting, or other garden or river reclamation jobs. Help with the animals is very easy, mostly entertaining the dog, occasionally moving the stock from one paddock to another (they come when called!). Good fun as at the moment I have goat kids and young calves with their mums.

    Seperate to the help exchange you would maintain your living space and contribute to maintenance of shared living spaces.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Large bedroom and bathroom upstairs, wifi is slow but unlimited. Meals provided unless you have specific dietary requirements in which case food arrangements can be negotiated.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My place is strictly non-smoking, and ideally you would be interested in nature, gardens, animals, and food. I would prefer to host people with an enthusiasm and interest in cooking, food, and food production (ideally omnivores without too many specific dietary requirements). I would be really happy to either explore our stunning area with you (e.g. take walks to waterfalls and rainforest and beaches) or facilitate transport for you. If you have a car, it would be great. If not, let's talk about transport issues...if I end up hosting frequently I would be open to acquiring a 2nd vehicle.

    My hosting experience so far has been one backpacker from "Adopt a Backpacker" who was stranded in Tasmania due to COVID19. It was a great experience and I can provide contact details for him if you want a reference for me as a host (as I have no reviews here).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours/day, 5 days/week

Huge bedrooms upstairs (3 bedrooms, 2 with king size beds) with large bathroom.
You must love dogs! Only one spoiled border collie, but he is pretty much treated like a person here.
Try your luck fishing in the river that surrounds the property.
Somerset beach is a great place to walk/run. Only 2km away.
Host ref number: 966912369762