Building self sufficiency adjacent to Ku-ring-gai National Park and Pittwater on Broken Bay, Australia

  • Australia
  • Favourited 742 times
  • Last activity: 8 Dec 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Available for fully vaccinated only.

    Heather and I have recently returned from 13 years living in Europe and need help getting the house and garden into shape. We live 30 km from the center of Sydney on the edge of a 15,000 hectare national park with another boundary being Pittwater which is a harbour 10 km in length that joins Broken Bay. As we adjoin the national park there are brush turkeys, wallabies, echidnas. lyrebirds and possums and lots of native birds as well as our 3 chickens - Beryl, Claudine and Daphne.

    While we are close to Sydney we are insulated from city life by a stretch of water. Our little peninsula has 8 houses with a mix of young families and retired couples. People from other bays walk or boat around for social occasions or to play tennis. There are no roads to the house and access is only by water - ferry, water taxi or commuter boat.

    If you are interested in cooking (or just eating) we have distinctive Australian foods and flavours such as the Finger Lime, Warrigal greens, etc as well as the fresh produce from the kitchen garden and freshly laid eggs all on hand.

    UPDATE: February 2022: The new boatshed is almost complete - just waiting for doors and windows - before final painting and internal fitout. We have got 4 new chickens who are slowly integrating with the 3 survivors of the first group and a hive of native stingless bees - very small and stingless but good pollinators and great to watch. The kitchen garden is improving and much to do in the coming months. The native regeneration project at the back has been a lower priority while building the boatshed so needs some serious sustained effort.

    UPDATE October 2022: The new boatshed fitout is coming together and will be completed by Christmas. Tasks in the coming months include rebuilding the sea wall, getting on top of the weeds in the bush regeneration areas and continuing work on the kitchen garden. Later we will start on rebuilding the other boatshed, installing solar and water desalination and associated pumps and tanks. Poor Daphne (one of the original four chickens) has suffered a lane leg - no sign of break or bite but held in "special measures" - in a nesting box inside during the night and a small pen outside during the day. We hope for a full recovery. (the asparagus patch is coming into full production and there seems to be a bumper crop of finger limes this year)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We enjoy meeting and learning from people from different countries and cultures and sharing our Australian way of life.

  • Help


    There is a large wallaby proof fenced kitchen garden which has been neglected and needs renovation - rebuilding garden beds and paths, weeding and pruning trees, composting and building soil quality with the aim of achieving near self sufficiency. We have established (and fruiting) avocado, mango, lemon, finger lime, macadamia and olive trees and are looking to add to this bounty. In addition there is a large garden going down to the waterfront which requires mowing, weeding etc. The house needs some painting and general maintenance - depending on your skills and experience we could tackle some basic carpentry tasks.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Accommodation is either in a wonderful boatshed or in the house with a private room with a queen sized bed and exclusive use of a bathroom. We are omnivores - currently reducing our meat intake - and are happy to cook and would welcome the opportunity to share some of your favourite meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Getting here is easy - an express bus leaves Sydney every few minutes for the 50 minute ride to Mona Vale from where a local bus takes 10 minutes to Church Point. From there a ferry can be caught but we go "to the mainland" daily and can sometimes pick you up. On the property you can play tennis, the piano / pianola and enjoy peaceful views over the water. We also have a 30' racing yacht (an Etchell) and there may be opportunities for sailing. From the property there are numerous bushwalks and you can go swimming, fishing and paddling. Nearby there is surfing from Mona Vale or other Northern Beaches.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have NBN fibre to premises.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 578934346497

Feedback (14)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)

Help with gardening and DIY in Ashmore, QLD, Australia
Small 8 acre hobby farm near the beach in Termeil, NSW, Australia