Looking for help with gardens, outdoor, vegetables and more in Quebec, Port-Cartier, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 85 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/07/2021

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    July / August 2021 need help for various projects (gardens, outdoor vegetable washing station, cold room)

    Update: the regions are finally open! If you want to have a good time on the North Shore, Port-Cartier, you are welcome.
    We have a lot of work outside in the gardens, a fence to finish so that our vegetables are safe from rabbits and chickens and if you are good with your hands, small construction projects, In addition, your help would be welcome to a beautiful orchard implantation project in our respective schools.


    We are a french speaking family of 4 and we live in Port-Cartier, on the North Coast of Quebec, a fairly isolated place and far from big cities, but surrounded by sea and forest. We are quite frequent travelers: 4 years ago, we spent a year in South America and we just returned from a 6 month trip to Europe. We use workaway both as a volunteer abroad and as a host family at home.

    --


    Mise à jour: les régions sont enfin ouvertes! Si tu veux passer un bon moment sur la Côte Nord, Port-Cartier, tu es le/la bienvenu(e).
    On a pas mal de travail dehors dans les jardins, une clôture à terminer pour que nos légumes soient à l'abri du lapin et des poules et si tu es habile de tes mains, des petits projets de construction, De plus, ton aide serait bienvenu dans un beau projet d'implantation de verger dans nos écoles respectives.

    *** Bonus, je ferai la route Qc-Port-Cartier vendredi 28 mai. 2 places disponilbes.




    Bonjour, Hello, Hola!
    Nous sommes une famille québécoise de 4 et nous habitons à Port-Cartier, sur la Côte Nord du Québec, un endroit assez isolé et loin des grands villes, mais entouré de mer et de forêt. Nous sommes d'assez grands voyageurs: il y a 4 ans, nous avons passé un an en Amérique du Sud et nous revenons tout juste d'un voyage de 6 mois en Europe. Nous utilisons workaway autant comme volontaire à l'étranger que comme famille d’accueil à la maison.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a family open to others and the world. We like to share with people of any gender and horizon. The person can be 100% integrated into our family and join us in our work and family life if he wishes. Also, we are well equipped to enjoy the region (kayaks / canoes / camping equipment and bicycles).

    Nous sommes une famille ouverte sur les autres et le monde. Nous aimons partager avec des gens de tout genres et horizons. La personne pourra être intégrée à 100% dans notre famille et nous accompagner dans nos activités et vie de famille si elle le désire. De plus, nous sommes bien équipés pour profiter de la région (kayaks/canot/matériel de camping et vélo).

  • Help

    Help

    Various tasks in the field and in the house depending on the season and your skills.

    -Landscape maintenance: raking leaves, adding mulch, preparing gardens, shoveling snow, etc.
    - Cabinetmaking work: project of a cabinet for washing vegetables outside, sanding, construction of a cold room and others.
    -Various projects: create a work of art to embellish or in connection with school projects.
    -Participate in daily household chores: cleaning, cooking, washing dishes, etc.
    -Language help: English, Spanish and Italian.

    Travaux divers sur le terrain et la maison selon la saison et vos compétences.

    -Entretien paysager: râteler les feuilles, apporter du paillis, préparer les jardins, pelleter la neige, etc.
    -Travaux d'ébénisterie: projet d'un meuble pour laver les légumes dehors, sablage, construction d'une chambre froide et autres.
    -Projets divers: créer un œuvre d'art pour embellir ou en lien avec des projets scolaires.
    -Participer aux tâches quotidiennes de la maison: ménage, cuisine, laver la vaisselle, etc.
    -Aide aux langues: anglais, espagnol et italien.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    newly renovated private room the basement of our house. The other spaces are shared with the family

    Chambre privée récemment rénovée dans le sous-sol de notre maison. Les autres espaces sont partagés avec la famille.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We expect to receive people with manual skills, motivated, respectful, independent (we work outside the home during the day) and have the intention to integrate.

    Nous nous attendons à recevoir des gens qui ont des habiletés manuels et qui sont motivés, respectueux, autonomes (nous travaillons à l'extérieur de la maison le jour) et qui ont envi de s'intégrer.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.






Host ref number: 962128328764