Brush a horse, help with home and Hobby Farm and do some cooking near Ottawa, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 172 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello workawayers -


    I work full time at a university in the city and we have a hobby farm an hours commute from work. Travel isn't in the cards for us right now, so we'd like the world to visit us. My children at home are 13 and 16 years old plus teenaged exchange students, and my grandchild pops through after school some days. We live in a small house on an 8 acre hobby farm just outside a village east of Canada’s capital city - Ottawa. We enjoy the many festivals, shopping & entertainment the large city has to offer and cool off at Calypso Water Park.
    On our farm there are:
    • 1 Norwegian fjord horse who needs an intermediate or better rider (and I have neither time nor talent!)
    • 3 miniature horses - 1 trained for driving
    • indoor and barn cats
    • 4 dogs
    • a dozen chickens



    The children are determined, accepting and enjoyable, and are welcoming to visitors. We have hosted high school students through exchange programs for years and have enjoyed learning about little pieces of Germany, France, Austria, the Netherlands, Australia, Switzerland, Norway, Mexico, Japan and China through the students who joined our family.

    As with most children, mine are more than happy to help you practice English!

    You can catch a ride into Ottawa on my way to work in the morning and be a tourist until a ride home with me at the end of my day.

    University students looking for a place for themselves and a horse are welcome to contact me.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a normal, busy family who like sharing our home and our country with others.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    With work and children there are never enough hours in the day so there are several short term and larger projects available in the barn and the yard.
    Timings are very flexible. We will provide room and board. Food is simple and plentiful, summer shopping is frequently local markets but convenience foods do occur.

    Sharing (or taking over) meal prep is appreciated.

    The ever changing list:
    house work (always)
    Painting- just walls, not pictures
    barn work
    Brushing miniature horses and fjord horse (fluffy lawn ornaments)
    Intermediate riders to exercise fjord horse
    tidy flowerbeds (summer)
    Shovel snow on paths (winter)
    Mending
    Laundry
    Driving children to activities
    Drain tiles at the barn
    Moving the electrical and water in the barn
    Securing the barn tin (at the top of a ladder)
    ...anything you can suggest?

    My teens enjoy card games, board games and hanging out. The chance to meet people from other cultures is an important part of "life education".

    Short term stays are welcome since we have several smaller projects.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have space for 1, possibly 2 people:

    - there basement bedroom with a twin bed is away from the bustle of the house. The bedroom on the main floor is taken over by an exchange student September to June.

    We're a little old fashioned about opposite sex (or same-sex couples) as roommates, so we can provide separate rooms for couples who aren't married.

    - wifi is available, please don't do large downloads

    Pick up at the airport, train or bus can be arranged depending upon my schedule of the day.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a Roman Catholic family and practice our faith in our lives, including frequent Mass attendance and daily prayer. You don't have to join us, but you need to respect our faith as we will respect you. If you'd like to attend your own faith, we'll assist in getting you where you need to be.

    Two of us require a gluten free diet, so we can provide gluten free and do healthy meals.

    We eat meat, we raise our own chickens for meat, we are not vegetarians (but like veggies). We cannot provide a special diet but can add extra of what you do eat. If you are vegetarian and it's your turn to cook, we'll happily be vegetarian-for-a-day as often as you’d like!

    No smoking anything, and absolutely no drugs, our neighbour is a (very nice) police officer. (Safe neighbourhood!)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Our rural internet is a little difficult but you are welcome to bring your laptop and job with you. Most of what we’d ask of you can be worked around times you are already scheduled.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Water and electricity at the front of the barn and a free city septic dump just a few kms away. I am comfortable hosting more than one person if you are bringing home with you.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Completely depending upon the pets. We have quite a few ourselves and health and safety of all people and animals is very important.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-5 / day (max 25 hrs)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)



















Host ref number: 898959352526