Looking for gardening and general help preparing the house for the summer season in the Marche region of Italy



Favourited 87 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Description


    We are an English couple who have been living full time in Italy for three years. We live in the middle of beautiful countryside near the village of Monte San Martino and have two houses which are joined together - we live in the smaller one and let the larger one out for holidays in the summer months. We have 2 hectares of land including a large garden with a pool and are trying to grow increasing amounts of fruit and vegetables using mostly permaculture methods to improve the soil and the potential of the land. We are very interested in using compost teas and raised beds to improve our crop as well as making fun garden features for our guests to enjoy.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Help


    We would love to get some help from one or possibly two fit enthusiastic people to help with pre guest season outside work, gardening (mowing, strimming, pruning, planting), landscaping, small wall building, carpentry, opening the pool etc
    We need people in the next week or two ideally - April 14 to 25th 2013 - a week minimum.
    A couple or one or two singles welcome - singles will have a double bedroom each and their own bathrooms.
    Being cheerful and enthusiastic is more important than having lots of experience, we are happy to teach you if you're happy to learn. Equally we'd be delighted to learn from any guests with experience with permaculture projects or any other skills.
    Warning - there is very little public transport available and if you are hoping for a busy nightlife you're out of luck but we will make sure you get to visit the area and will take you to our favourite pizza place at least once! If you would like to spend a week immersed in gorgeous countryside helping us get the house and gardens looking their best and having a laugh - we don't take life very seriously if possible - we would love you to join us for a week or so. we will take excellent care of you with gorgeous accommodation and delicious meals.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    You have the whole of the holiday home part of the property to enjoy! We can offer lovely big double bedrooms in the guest part of the house with your own bathrooms. Broadband wifi available.
    Table tennis, table footy, your own huge sitting room - though you are welcome to join us in the evenings of course too. Lots of DVDs to watch and a ton of books to read.
    We will provide help yourself breakfast in your own kitchen (we do not start work at the crack of dawn - a 9am start is great) and generous lunches and suppers eaten together. Wine provided of course! We can cater for vegetarians though we are both omnivores. We live in the foothills of the Sibillini Mountains and would be happy to show you the area as much as possible during your stay. Its a fabulous and lesser known part of Central Italy.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can collect you from Ancona airport or stations nearby within reason. There is a coach from Rome to Amandola (15 mins drive) if you fly into Rome.
    You are welcome to borrow our mountain bikes though its quite hilly terrain!
    We have three friendly cats so if you are allergic to cats our place is probably not for you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day

Host ref number: 961646122871