Help in the garden, house and property maintenance, fire wood, some small construction projects in Tofino, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 132 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/12/2019

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 4 who grew up and still live in Tofino, a small town on the edge of the Pacific Ocean, on the very west side of Vancouver Island.
    My husband and I have two children.
    I have a large very close family here and we love to do lots of adventures of all sorts, boating, hiking, camping, surfing, pretty much anything outside. there is usually always some work that needs doing, cleaning up Marine Debris or helping collecting fire wood and such, but it is not a bother with a good attitude and good company.
    We are looking for someone or couple who is capable, strong and have a very good sense of awareness and pride in what they do and where they visit. Looking for help around the house, yard and garden as well as some small building projects.
    We also have some trail maintenance, gardening and home projects at our family home on an island near Tofino.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get the local experience of Tofino and its surrounding area, with a lot of history going back hundreds of years and further knowledge of its ecosystems and the life it sustains.
    Growing up here provided us with an amazing amount of knowledge and respect for a life off grid and some may say remote living.
    I grew up protecting the environment in which we gather our food and spend our time, thanks to my amazing parents for such guidance and continued spirit to protect such an amazing ecosystem.
    I am also a big part of Clayoquot Clean up, a local Marine debris clean up team that is always working to rid our waters and shoreline of garbage.
    We have in the last 12 months cleaned over 30k of shoreline of all garbage and non natural objects.

  • Help

    Help

    Help in the garden, house and property maintenance, fire wood, some small construction projects or bigger if your skill is there, be a helpful honest and hard working part of our home and team, clean up after yourself, eager to learn and teach what you know and be a part of an experience of knowledge sharing on the rugged and beautiful west coast.
    Chainsaw, construction experience is an asset but not a requirement.
    Handy, strong, capable, hard worker with a good attitude and respect for the environment.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A room in the home or a small cabin like space is available for sleeping, depending on location(in town or on the island) . I will cook but if you are able and are happy to share the tasks that is great too, food will be provided.
    We are not vegetarians. We do love our own garden salads and fishing for our salmon and cod and other seafood.
    We also eat meat but prefer good local beef or chicken.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Some things to do while you are off are hike, camp, take one of the many tours Tofino has to offer or just enjoy a day of exploring and some beach time.
    We have lots of amazing things to do in this area and are happy to give advice on what to do and the best days to do them with weather and sea conditions.
    I am happy to have you jump in for any of my trips to and from town or around the area.
    We are a hard working fun family that loves adventure, and last minute weather widows to enjoy it.
    We want a hard working, easy to get along with, capable, strong, fit, aware, clean, responsible and respectful person that can be a part of our lives and projects for the time they are with us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 961415684565