Come stay with a friendly welcoming family in amazing Vancouver, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 23 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young family who live, work, and play in the amazing city of Vancouver, BC in what we are convinced is the best neighbourhood in the city, called Hastings Sunrise. It is extremely walkable, with everything you could think of needing within a ten minute walk, including lots of great coffee shops and roasteries, breweries, deli, amazing restaurants, local grocery stores, the library, and lots of other locally owned shops. We are also very close to numerous parks and excellent biking trails, and a 10 minute bike or 20 minute bus ride to downtown Vancouver.

    Michael runs his own business as a financial planner and accountant, and Anna is a nurse who works part time in wound care, and is working on starting her own food and natural health blog. We have a 2 year old daughter who is adorable (we are biased of course!) and lots of fun, and are very excited to welcome a new baby in March, 2021. We have a very well behaved, big lovable dog named Steinway, who is a border collie/staffie mix. He always seems a bit depressed so will happily take any love people want to give him! We love to go on hikes, lots of beach day trips, camping in the summer, biking as a family, playing tennis, wine tasting, and love to travel as much as we can, whether that's weekend trips in our own amazing province of British Columbia, or internationally.

    We are so thankful to live in a beautiful heritage home that we've lovingly renovated, and also have a great private yard where we have our own little "urban farm", with chickens and bees. We are learning to grow our own veggies and fruit as much as we can, and really value making whole nutritious food such as organic sourdough, kombucha, and our own whole milk yoghurt.

    We live in the upstairs suite of our home with 2 female young professionals in a separate ground floor suite, and we try to have meals together once a week with them. We and really value living in community and sharing
    life with others. We care about being involved in our community and enjoy being active in our local church.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    A chance to live in the most beautiful city in the world, and to make lifelong friends and be part of a family who will welcome you with open arms. We love learning about different cultures. We love playing tourist in our own city so would enjoy showing you all our favourite places.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone who can provide help around the house with things such as cleaning/organizing, shopping, and meal prep, along with some help with our daughter and the new baby when he/she arrives! Our daughter is in daycare 2-3 days per week.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own bedroom in our home, with a shared bathroom. You will be welcomed to share in our meals or make your own, whatever you prefer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We require a workaway who is able to speak and understand English well. Sorry guys, but ladies only preferred. Also, due to having young children in the home, request a workaway who does not smoke or vape. We would prefer someone who is able to stay a minimum of 2 months, and would prefer longer stays. Our ideal timing is arrival the middle of February or beginning of march (at the latest) 2021. We do not have availability until the beginning of Feb.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have high speed internet, as we have a few people in our home who work from home.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have street parking available.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 298388725175