Join us in our 7-acre hobby farm bubble and help us with dogs in rural British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 581 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    35  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    253

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    78.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are looking for Canadian citizens, or foreign nationals who have already been in our country for at least 1 month.

    We've hosted farm volunteers for the past 8 years and have met some amazing humans and made some life-long friends. We recently took a 2-month European adventure in 6 different countries. It was amazing to go to the homes, towns, and cities of 10 former workaway volunteers. It was a trip of a lifetime one we did not think being a host on workaway would allow us.

    Located 10 minutes outside the quiet little village of Lumby (pop 1,700) in the beautiful province of British Columbia (Canada).

    As a gay male couple (we've been together for 27 years), we are looking for open-minded, self-motivated folks to assist with our dog business, as well as with the gardening, ever-changing outdoor farm work, cooking and household chores. We require volunteers to be fluent in English so we can have conversations with each other and when things get busy we can be sure you understand the tasks and chores being asked of you. Please do not say yes to instructions you aren't clear about or do not understand. We want you to ask questions if and when things seem confusing or overwhelming to you. Both of us are willing to sit down and discuss things if a situation becomes bothersome in any way.

    We are a premier dog boarding ( no cages or kennels ) business where all dog guests live in our home with us and get very personalized dog care. We typically have between 10 - 15 guest dogs, plus 5 of our own! The dogs have 14,000 sq ft of fenced dog playgrounds to run around and socialize in. We are known as "The Dog Guys", and consider our dog guests to be our fur nieces and nephews. We also go by Uncle Robb and Uncle Michael. As part of our unique dog care, we allow the dogs and cats to sleep on the bed with us at night. and ask that you be willing to do the same.

    As well as helping us with the dogs, we would like help with our many farm chores.

    We've got vegetable and flower gardens that need to be attended to throughout the spring, summer and into the fall.

    The tasks we need help with vary and change daily and we’re looking for self-motivated individuals who can look at what needs to be done and who has the initiative to do it but also to have the wisdom to ask for advice before commencing a task.

    We have a flock of about 100 laying hens ( also known as our Henriettas ) that need to be tended to by feeding, cleaning their coops, gathering, and washing and packaging their eggs. Two pot-bellied pigs, Bernadette & Frisco; two 30-year old Appaloosa horses, Mercedes & Papoose; an alpaca, Yuri; a cow named Daisy; 4 ducks, as well as our 5 dogs and 3 cats. Volunteers must love and not be allergic to cats as one of our downstairs rooms shares occupancy with our 3 amazing kitties.

    We both enjoy cooking and baking, and love learning new recipes from the countries of our farm volunteers, and we enjoy learning how people live in other parts of the world.

    Being so busy here with the dog boarding and the farm, we were not able to roam the world until recently, and Workaway is a unique way to bring the world to us.

    We have appreciated all the help we have received from volunteers from all around the world for the past 8 years and look forward to meeting all our future volunteers as well

    ~Write us today for more details~

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    While you're with us, we'll show you around our region, the Okanagan Valley, as best we can given the time of year, and the time restrictions of caring for all of the animals here. Some of what we may be able to show you are: the Shuswap River, a valley view of Lumby from high atop of small mountain where you can see for miles both East and West, the Village of Lumby, the Cities of Vernon and Kelowna (the latter being a summer tourist destination (as well as Big White for skiers in the wintertime), an afternoon out on what Robb calls, "the Mabel Lake Trail" which includes a visit to the water falls at the small hydro electric generating station a short drive from us, to Mabel Lake Provincial Park, then on to the Mystic Trail and Cascade Falls.

    Another trip may include a trip to our friends, Laurie & Kevin of Silverhills Lowline Cattle, on their 20+ acre ranch overlooking a gorgeous vista of treed, mountainous area where they raise "lowline" cattle; full-grown but small stature cows.

    We'll also treat you to dinner out on occasion, from simple fare such as local pizza (usually ordered in) or Chinese smorg and Japanese sushi (usually ordered in), Sunday brunch at the local pub, or more elegant fare such as Thai, Greek or Italian food at a Vernon restaurant.

    Other recreational jaunts could include swimming at the local "swimming hole" on the Shuswap River or at Mabel Lake, hiking, or dropping you off for a day of hiking and to explore a beautiful trail at Kalamalka Lake, near Vernon. In Kelowna, the waterfront on the city shores of Okanagan Lake (approx 100 miles in length), extending between Penticton in the south through Kelowna and up to Vernon) has a very cool boardwalk, and starts at City Park filled with large trees and, in summer, flowers.

    When you come to stay in our "farm bubble", expect to be treated like family, because really you are family that we just haven't met yet!

  • Help

    Help

    You MUST love and respect all animals......

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In a private bedroom on the main level of our home, with access to a full bathroom ~plus~ a 1/2 bath (toilet and sink), a second bedroom downstairs (and attached extra room shared with our 4 cats). We also have a private fifth wheel trailer we can use as well.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Waterfalls - Swimming (Shuswap River ~and~ Mabel and Okanagan Lakes) - Hiking - Canoeing - Kayaking - Sightseeing -

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    About 25 hours/week. We're not going to expect really hard labour of our work-a-way guests, but do we do need the extra hands!

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)

































Host ref number: 955789546892