Help with the day to day running of our farm in the Shuswap, BC

  • Canada
  • Favourited 156 times
  • Last activity: 21/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Currently looking for help from now onwards. We are a friendly, family-run farm with horses, sheep and chickens in the beautiful Shuswap. We have 12 horses, chickens, dogs, sheep, goats and cats. We are within walking distance of fantastic trails to hike or bike and a 10-minute drive to the beautiful Shuswap Lake, Salmon Arm center is also 10 mins away.
    We are looking for 1 or 2 to help out , You need to have some horse experience. Daily jobs include mucking out stables, handling horses, feeding horses, filling haynets and keeping the barn clean & tidy, also helping with a little housekeeping and cooking. Some riding may be included depending on experience.

    In exchange, we can offer accommodation, good food, pool ( in the summer), and great company.
    We are free to host 1 or 2 people for a month or 2 asap. We look forward to meeting you :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will see what a large Canadian family looks like while learning how to care for animals.

  • Help

    Help

    We would love your help with the day to day running of our small farm, including feeding and mucking out animals, gardening, yard maintenance, housekeeping, cooking, painting.
    Generally, be willing to have a go at anything :)
    Our helpers need to be able to work alone or with others.
    There is always something happening here.
    In exchange, we can offer fantastic accommodation, good food, pool (in the summer) hot tub, and great company.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Basement suite with private room, bathroom and lounge area.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Shuswap is a beautiful area and we are 5 min from the lake. There are many hiking trails. Our seasons are distinctive, summers are warm and beautiful and the lake very enjoyable, winters cold and snowy.
    Salmon Arm has many tourists during the summer months (May-Sept) and as a result provides opportunities to attend concerts, rodeos, fairs, etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5

Host ref number: 541563577644

Feedback (10)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)












Experience country living and help me on our small farm in the beautiful area of Procter, B.C. Canada
Help with our permaculture project near Halifax,Canada